ARC Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

Title: Moonshot
Author: Alessandra Torre
Genre: Sports Romance/Suspense
Type: Standalone
POV: Shifting
Release Date: July 4, 2016

 

Baseball isn’t supposed to be a game of life and death…

The summer that Chase Stern entered my life, I was seventeen. The daughter of a legend, the Yankees were my family, their stadium my home, their dugout my workplace. My focus was on the game. Chase… he started out as a distraction. A distraction with sex appeal poured into every inch of his six foot frame. A distraction who played like a god and partied like a devil.

I tried to stay away. I couldn’t.

Then, the team started losing.
Women started dying.
And everything in my world broke apart.
 

Amazon US |  Amazon UK |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Chase Stern was the bad boy of baseball. He partied as hard as he played, until his wayward way ultimately brought him to his dream team.

Tyler (Ty) Rollins had baseball in her blood. As the daughter of a Yankees player, she grew up in the dugout and had a family among the team. That was until Chase entered the picture and changed the dynamics irrevocably.

Unless it’s auto/motor racing, I do not know much about sports. Therefore, I tend to avoid sports themed books unless it’s by author I love or with a premise that captured my attention. Moonshot ticked both criteria.

This close he could see her eyes. This close, he could almost smell her. This close, if she wanted to, she could crush him.

Chase commanded attention since he was first introduced. He might not start as a likeable character for some but I love seeing him evolved from there. And I can’t help feeling all swoony with the way he loved.

Even though I don’t know much about baseball, I could understand and feel the passion Ty had for the game. She also evolved a lot throughout the story from an innocent, carefree teenager to a woman with a heavy burden to bear.

I love how this book is not just another sports romance. Behind the baseball and the romance, there was a suspense sub plot that kept things interesting. I do wish a little bit more details of it though.

Certain loves can’t be fought. The harder you tried, the harder you would be knocked back, over and over again, until it beat you into submission, until your heart caved and body surrendered.

Moonshot is a story of two people bound by their love of the sports finding their way together amidst past mistakes and future risks. The fast pace and engaging storyline will keep readers flipping the page until the end.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website |  Facebook |  Twitter  | Pinterest  | Amazon  |  Goodreads

Alessandra Torre is an award-winning New York Times bestselling author of ten novels. Her books focus on romance and suspense, all with a strong undercurrent of sexuality. Torre has been featured in such publications as Elle and Elle UK, Dirty Sexy Funny with Jenny McCarthy, as well as guest blogged for the Huffington Post and RT Book Reviews. She is also the Bedroom Blogger for Cosmopolitan.com.

Leave a Reply

