Review: Comfort Food by Kitty Thomas

Title: Comfort Food
Author: Kitty Thomas
Genre: Dark Erotica
Type: Standalone
POV: Shifting
Rating:

1st read: December 2013
2nd read + 1st review: June 2016

Emily Vargas was a minor celebrity in public speaking circuit. As a women empowerment motivational speaker, she understood the tenets of psychology. It never occurred to her that her knowledge would be used against her when she was taken captive by a beautiful monster.

I’ve read this book a while ago and it became my favorite dark book since then. But I read it before I started reviewing and I feel like my love for this book is not justified without a review. Even though I don’t re-read books, I think this one was worth it to remind me why I love it in the first place.

I want her fear, desperation, complete and total obedience. And I am willing to wait for it.

The captor was only known as Master. He was a fascinating enigma. There was barely any info about his background, but instead of feeling deprived, I like that it made him untouchable which added value to his persona. He was incredibly calm and patient and that’s what made him a respectable and powerful villain.

He always gave me choices. Or maybe what he gave me was force wrapped in the pretty package of pretend free will.

Emily’s story would make you realize that no matter how much you think you know, it won’t necessarily help you when you’re thrusted into a stressful situation. In fact, it could possibly hurt you even more. It was interesting to see her thought process, coping mechanism and rationalization in order to survive.

What made this my favorite dark book is the psychological aspect of the captor/captive dynamics. This is dark erotica (which is not for everyone), not dark romance. So there is no romantic element to dilute or justify the psychological manipulations – which for me what made the story special.

I’d been irrevocably changed, and no one wanted to accept it, not even me.

Comfort Food is a fascinating yet disconcerting look into human psyche and how people cope when the line between fear and free will is blurred. It may not appeal to everyone, but if you can handle a non-romantic dark read, this one could be something to ponder about.

Note: Be prepare to be turned off by chicken noodle soup after reading this book :p

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

