Review: The Empty Jar by M. Leighton

Title: The Empty Jar
Author: M. Leighton
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Nate and Helena (Lena) Grant embarked on a three months European tour to strengthen their already unbreakable bond. They had been together for nineteen years and married for sixteen years, which seemed like a lifetime. However, time was no longer on their side. Amidst an impending tragedy, hope bloomed to soften the blow. But to keep the beauty, they had no choice but to face the ugly.

I am forever searching for an ugly crying book, but very few that actually made it into my personal criteria of ugly crying. This book effortlessly slipped into the list.

He’s forgiving and tolerant. He’s kind and thoughtful. He’s the type of man who makes a woman better for just knowing him.

Out of all the book heroes I’ve read, Nate is among the very top that get my respect. His love and devotion for people around him was humbling. With all the sexy alpha heroes out there that every reader lusted after, well, they might sound good in books, but not in reality. All you need in real life is someone like Nate and you won’t need anything else.

She’s nurturing, loving, protective. This is her way of loving me the best way she can. The only way she knows how.

Lena was on par with Nate. She was a worthy character to be invested in. Her strength and determination was a sight to behold.

The most special thing about this book was their bond. Their love was undying and I could feel it with their every word and every action. I could tell even without author’s note, how much heart and soul were put into the story.

I know I’d be perfectly content if I could be awakened in just such a way every day for the rest of my life. But some things just aren’t meant to be.

I could easily put myself in their situation – and I did. It took me to a myriad of emotions, asking myself if I would do things differently. It is a very difficult question to answer and I hope I would never have to.

I’m not sure how smart that is, signing up for even more pain when there’s plenty to go around already, but it’s out of my control.

Very rarely I found books that can truly hurt me and leave a scar in my heart. This book is one of them. But the scar is not an ugly one. Instead, it’s a reminder of what life is all about and how I should appreciate it every single day.

The Empty Jar is a story of love and how it can both hurt and heal. It is not an easy read, but a beautifully poignant one that will stay in the heart for a long time.

Note: Special thanks to my Twinsie CC for taking the whiplash of my emotions while reading this book when she’s not even reading it lol!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

