ARC Review: Hold You Against Me by Skye Warren

Title: Hold You Against Me
Author: Skye Warren
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Standalone Book 4 from Stripped series
POV: First Person – Female
Expected Publication: May 31, 2016

 

Once upon a time the daughter of a mafia king fell in love with a foot soldier.

This fairy tale didn’t have a happy ending.

My sister and I barely managed to escape alive, and we’ve lived in relative hiding ever since. I’m safe now, but I can never forget the boy who gave his life to save mine.

Except there’s a chance that he’s still alive. And he’s fighting a war.

Even knowing the risks, I have to find him. I have to find some way to protect him, the way he protected me. But he isn’t the boy I left behind. He’s a violent man. A criminal. And he’s been waiting for me—the final pawn in a dark game of survival and love.

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Clara Moretti was born a royalty – a mafia royal. As daughter of the Capo, both her and her sister’s lives were planned out regardless of their willingness. A boy she was in love with helped them escaped their father’s clutches. Years later, she’s living a normal life but she never forgotten the boy she left behind.

Giovanni Costas was the son of a lowly foot soldier. When he stayed behind after helping the sisters escaped, he was thought to be dead. But he came back bigger, darker and more powerful than ever. And he wanted her back, but not the way she wanted it to be.

I’ve love Gio and Clara since I read their novella, Tough Love. They have been my favorite couple in the series even without their own book. I’m happy that they finally get their story.

Whatever they did to him changed him, turned something off inside him. And I understand why he’s showing me this. The boy I loved really did die years ago.

I adored young Gio. He evolved into someone completely different, skirting dangerously between good and evil. He might no longer be the sweet boy he once was, but I still love him especially with the darkness within him.

Clara’s love for Gio was undying, even after he changed. But I love that she wasn’t unnecessarily blinded by it. She was rational and unselfish.

“How could I fall in love with you when I loved you with every breath, every heartbeat, every lash of the fucking whip? When you invaded my dreams, my hallucinations. I can’t stop loving you, bella. I’ve tried. God help me, I’ve tried.”

I really like their story of young innocent love made ugly by situations. Both of them had secrets and fears to overcome, and whatever they did, it was out of love or necessity.

Hold You Against Me is a story of two individuals forced apart by an ugly past and brought back together by wants and needs. It would appeal to people who prefer lighter dark romance book with non violent mafia elements.

Note: This book comes with the prequel novella, Tough Love

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

WebsiteFacebook   |  Twitter   |  Pinterest  |  YouTube  |  Goodreads

Skye Warren is the New York Times bestselling author of dark romance such as Wanderlust and Prisoner. Praised as a “true mistress of dark erotica”, her books have been featured in Jezebel, Buzzfeed, USA Today Happily Ever After, Glamour, and Elle Magazine. She makes her home in Texas with her loving family, four dogs, and one evil cat.

Leave a Reply

