ARC Review: Crave Me by M. Robinson

Title: Crave Me
Author: M. Robinson
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 4 of The Good Ol’ Boys series
POV: First Person – Dual
Publication Date: May 10, 2016

 

They say in order to find yourself you have to go home.
What if home was what you’re running from?
Where did that leave you?
Always on the other side of the fence.
Always looking in.
Always wishing you were someone you couldn’t be.
Until one day you meet her.
The one.
She was my high, but she was also…

My demise.

STANDALONE within a series. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Strong language and themes, and sexual content, not intended for readers under 18. This is a Full Length Novel.
 

Amazon US |  Amazon UK |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Austin Taylor grew up with loving and supportive family and friends. But deep down inside, he never felt belonged. A life changing incident made him even more unsettled and it became the push for him to leave everything he knew behind.

Daisy Martinez shed her old self and became Briggs the day her life was upended. Unceremoniously thrown into the wolves, she learned to survive the only way she could. She craved something more but Austin might prove to be more than she’s willing to take.

Austin has been my favorites since Book 1 because his story came with a huge potential of pain and heartbreak. This book was not as painful as I wanted but I still enjoyed it.

I saw something familiar in her eyes, something I had always seen in mine, reflecting back at me. Pain.

In past books we know Austin suffered from addiction. This book revealed how a coping method became the catalyst if his spiral down that affected people around him.

I never liked Briggs before. Partly because she’s an outsider, whereas the rest of the couples in the series were connected to each others. But I ended up loving her the most out of all the heroines because she’s a novelty.

This led to my issue with Austin. I felt like I didn’t learn anything new about him. His addiction issue seemed overplayed which prevented me from neither empathizing nor demonizing him.

“What if I’m not that person anymore? What if the man that you love so fucking much is gone, baby? What if I can’t reach deep enough to find him anymore?”

I really enjoyed learning about Briggs’ background. Her story was so different from the rest of the characters in the series. I like that the author recapped the timeline in previous books, which would be helpful for people who chose to read it as a standalone. But for me who followed the series from the beginning it felt repetitive at times with the inclusion on non significant scenes to the current story. So having Brigg’s story was a breath of fresh air.

Crave Me is a story of individuals battling their demons and learning to make choices for themselves for the greater good.

 

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

