Review: Opaque Mirrors by Courtney Lane

Title: Opaque Mirrors
Author: Courtney Lane
Genre: Dark Erotica
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Whitney Tyler led a life of excess in a big city where sinning was simply an everyday life. After a traumatic event, she moved to a sleepy small town to escape her demons. But a new fresh start she craved was halted when the new place came with its own set of demons that threatened to overrun everything she held on to.

It’s been a long time since I read a book that I can consider dark enough. I am happy to say I finally found one to satisfy my depraved needs lol!

The darkness I ran away from had returned to haunt me in an uncharted way. My mind had increased the brutality and extended outside the confines of my prison to punish me.

Whitney had a depraved proclivity that has been haunting her existence. She knew it was wrong but can’t help but to indulge in it and I love seeing her struggle in finding a balance without killing her true self.

There were several significant male characters in the book and they played key roles one way or another. One thing I really like when it comes to the characters is there seems to be no boundaries. It could take a story into many unexpected directions.

“You’re my bitch, and will take everything I give you. I don’t give a shit if you cry. I’m going to tear up your pussy and your ass.”

As previously mentioned, the book was dark in both psychological and physical aspect. I don’t naturally like physical brutality, but it was balanced nicely with the other aspects and those scenes did add a dimension to the story instead of being there simply as a shock factor.

Opaque Mirrors is a thrilling page turner with a good amount of depravity to satisfy any dark needs.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

