Review: Jaq With A Q by Jettie Woodruff

Title: Jaq With A Q
Author: Jettie Woodruff
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Book 1 of Kismet series
POV: First Person – Male
Rating:

Oliver (Ollie) Benson was a brilliant man. As a quantum physicist, he approached everything in life with scientific method. That was until he got a phone call that changed everything.

Jaq Tarantino had a problem. Growing up in bad household had made her a socially awkward individual with major trust issue. She wanted to shut out the world, but he was determined to changed it.

What first attracted me to this book was the very vague but intriguing blurb. It sounds like a dark, suspenseful read. It didn’t exactly turned out to be that.

I feel responsible for you. You make me feel like I have a purpose in life. I know that sounds creepy and crazy, but it’s the truth.

Ollie was not your typical hero. Instead of a swoony alpha, he was more the geeky beta type which made him endearing in his own way. He was very attuned to her wants and needs and incredibly patient.

Jaq wasn’t like most girls her age. Jaq was like a delicate rose petal, a flower unable to bloom, afraid to blossom.

Jaq was also not your typical heroine. She had a debilitating issue that’s affecting her quality of life. I like that her character was consistent (to her illness) throughout the book, but I also wanted to see her evolved – which didn’t really happened.

“I don’t understand that. Nobody’s ever fought for me like this before. I don’t know how to take it.”

I love that the author chose two atypical characters. It could have been something unique but for me it didn’t work in the end. I wasn’t drawn to them. They don’t need to be alphas for me to care for them, but they need to have a certain spark.

There were no excitement and intrigue in the story. Well actually, there were a few suspenseful element added but they were never explored. What was the purpose of it being introduced when there was no resolution? I understand there will be another book, but readers have to be hooked with enough bait to keep us biting. There really wasn’t much going on with the story.

“I want you. I’m always going to want you, and I am going to keep showing you, day after day after day. I’m going to show you until you know it, until you’re not afraid of that anymore.”

I’m assuming the whole point of the book is that anybody can fall in love and be brought together by some random circumstances (hence the series name, Kismet). Unfortunately the content just wasn’t enough for me.

Note: I do love Wallace and Silas.

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

