Review: So Much More by Kim Holden

Title: So Much More
Author: Kim Holden
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

Seamus and Miranda McIntyre were married but couldn’t be more opposite from each other. He was loving and understanding. She was cold and calculating. Together, they had three beautiful children that got caught in the middle, especially when their quirky neighbor Faith entered the picture. In order to move on, all of them had to learn to be so much more.

There are stories about romance and there are stories about love. This book is definitely more the latter.

Seamus can’t be the king to my queen. Because he’s a saint. And no one measures up to a saint.

It’s impossible for anyone not to feel Seamus and love him for all he was. He was almost perfect, but life threw him a curve ball. Still, he took it as gracefully as he could manage.

Miranda was the complete opposite. She was manipulative and conniving. Everything she did was for herself and she had no qualms about hurting other people for the sake of reaching her ambition.

I didn’t know people could hug your soul with their soul. Faith can.

It took me a while until I can pinpoint where Faith stood in this equation. I like her and her back story, but personally, I wasn’t feeling much for her.

Being a good person is partially subjective; beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. It’s whatever we deem acceptable, whatever we find ourselves worthy of.

I love books that gave me conflicting emotions. Like this one, I love Seasmus, but at the same time I wanted to shake him so we could start taking instead of just giving. And Miranda, as much as a bitch she was, I did recognize her unrelenting drive and that was quite admirable actually.

However, I did have some problem in the beginning. I felt it was too slow for my liking. It took about 60% of the book before it started moving the way I preferred.

I don’t like kids in real life (lol!), but they’re always my weak point when it comes to books. You hurt then, and I’ll break. And they broke me several times in this one. But they also made me smile and melted my cold heart.

So Much More is a heartwarming story of a family in the cusp of changes and how they deal with it while learning to be a better person.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

