Review: Liquid & Ash by E.M. Abel

Title: Liquid & Ash
Author: E.M. Abel
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Penelope Baylor was young and madly in love. She sacrificed her independence and individuality for a life with the man she loved. But the love didn’t last forever and when it was over, she was left with nothing including her self esteem.

Brandon Cain came into her life like a whirlwind – exciting but dangerous at close range. He was a bad seed that grew into something more. But how far could a relationship go when one tended to burn while the other already left in ashes?

When it comes to stories of broken people, I find it hard to resist. This book is certainly one of them.

I knew it was wrong, but I didn’t care about right and wrong. I wanted retribution. I deserved to throw all my morals aside and live in lust.

Penelope had the short end of her relationship. After years of investing in her marriage, she realized it wasn’t worth holding on too. I was happy that she chose the right directions in her life and willing to take chances.

Brandon didn’t catch my attention when he was first introduced, but I was definitely intrigued by how he would fit into her life.

I was falling in love with the beautifully broken man lying next to me, and I didn’t know how to stop.

My favorite thing about this book was how their relationship progressed at a good pace. It wasn’t shoved down reader’s throat. But I wanted to know more about Brandon – his past was just scratching the surface. I also expected her struggles to be more intense. It was a little tame for my liking. But then again, I always prefer when my characters suffered, so maybe it’s just me haha!

Liquid & Ash is an inspiring tale of a woman’s downfall and how she picked up her life and started it all over again.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

