Review: Collared by Nicole Williams

Title: Collared
Author: Nicole Williams
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Jade Childs was a happy 17 years old teenager with a whole life ahead of her. Unfortunately, that happiness was ripped away from her and landed her in captivity for the next 10 years

Torrin Costigan had been the boy next door and the one she would spend the rest her life with. For years, he never gave up hope and his dedication was rewarded when they were reunited once again. But the years brought about changes that strained their relationship that neither of them was ready to handle.

I’ve seen a lot of hype on this book and when I found out how it evoked reader’s emotions, I knew I can’t ignore it because this is one of the elements I crave in my reading.

“If I’m forced to make a choice, it will be you. Every time.” He exhales, and his eyes lower. “It will be you.”

I have tremendous respect for Torrin. His loyalty and dedication was admirable, and his patience was downright saintly.

For what she went through during and after, Jade was a lot stronger than she might look. She was both physically and emotionally fragile, yet she fought on daily basis even when she lost some. And I love seeing her rediscovering all the simple things she had been deprived off.

My disappearance ruined this family once. I’d never have guessed me being found would ruin them again.

What I love the most about this book is how it focused on the aftereffect of long term captivity not on only to the victim but to the family and friends as well. I just love reading about character’s struggles and their conflicting emotions. And I also appreciate how the relationships between characters weren’t forced.

“I feel like every morning I’m climbing a mountain, but when I look behind me at the end of the day, I’m still in the same spot. I try to move on, to get better, but I get nowhere.”

Collard is an emotional journey of a woman’s trials and tribulations in finding herself within the changes surrounding her new life. It may not necessarily be pretty, but it was certainly real.

Note:
I love the book title. It fit the story perfectly. You’ll understand the significance when you read it with how it have multiple meanings that applies to more than one characters.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

