Review: Mercy by Annabel Joseph

 

Title: Mercy
Author: Annabel Joseph
Genre: Dark Erotic Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

Lucy Merritt’s one and only passion was dancing. As the principal dancer of a small dance company, she was fairly content with her life except when it came to her relationship. She felt something was missing without understanding exactly what.

Matthew Norris was a distinguished older gentleman. As a patron of the dance company, he watched Lucy from afar admiring her beauty and grace. He saw something in her that she herself had not learned to recognize and he was determined to mould her into his perfect vision.

I always appreciate it when authors are not afraid to write stories that not everyone could accept. I crave stories that pushed the level of depravities and made you question your morality. This book did all that.

“I’m a collector of beautiful things, and I find you so beautiful that I have to have you. I need you to be mine.”

I like Matthew as a Dom. Even though at times he would push Lucy to the brink, he strived not to go overboard. Some of his actions might be questionable, but it didn’t bother me because (no matter how skewed it was) I understood where he came from.

I desperately wanted to be his little girl, his lover, his toy, whatever he wanted me to be.

Lucy never realized the submissive in her until Matthew opened up her eyes to the possibilities. I enjoyed seeing her testing her own limit and rationalizing her deep rooted desires.

The story was actually quite simple and straight forward. I didn’t mind it that much, but I wanted to see more of her psychological struggle. The story started a bit slow for me, so I was glad with the intensity towards the middle-end of the book.

The sex scenes were scorching. There was a good balance of soft sensual kind with the rough and hard kind. My favorite was the session with Slave. My only complaint is for it to be longer haha!

Mercy is a story of two people learning to open up to new unfamiliar feelings. It contains harder elements of BDSM and triggers that might be uncomfortable to some.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

