Review: Sociopath by Lime Craven

Title: Sociopath
Author: Lime Craven
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 from Sociopath series
POV: First Person – Male
Rating:

 

Aeron Lore was a highly successful media mogul. He credited his success to his ruthless business moves paired with his lack of conscience. What he wanted, he’ll get it one way or another and his latest ambition was set on a small tech company that will take his empire to the next level.

Leontine Reeves was a young owner of the tech company SilentWitn3ss with an idealistic plan for the future. She tried to protect her company and her heart from Aeron’s clutch, but he proved to be too hard to deny.

I have this book for a long time but never really got to chance to read it. I’m glad I finally did. It is more on the disturbing side of the dark spectrum, but hey, I’m not choosy when it comes to the dark side :p

Empathy. Jeez. Too much and you’re just an annoyance; too little and you’re suddenly dangerous.

I am naturally attracted to anti-heroes but Aeron was actually quite annoying to me. He was quick witted with sharp tongue and my opinion on him hardly wavered until the very end. I did end up liking him after all. And no matter how possibly disturbing it might be, I did like that he had a certain proclivity.

Leontine was an interesting character. She was strong, yet she had a dark side that made her vulnerable to him. I like how she allowed him to push her beyond her comfort zone.

Rules: I bend them.
Laws: I break them.
There’s not a smart mouth in this world that I can’t buy.

This book had an interesting concept of being in the mind of a psychopath. The narrative provided intimate details of Aeron’s uncensored inner thoughts. However, that was also the reason I found him annoying. There were too much of him bragging about his sociopathic “skills” without actually proving it in his actions.

It took me quite a while to get into the story due to the slow pace of earlier parts. There were things going on but not much of an action when it comes to resolving it. I’m glad the last 30% or so was much more engaging when the story changed directions. I also love seeing how Aeron rationalized his inner conflicts and adapted.

One of my favorite things about this book is the use of words at the start of each chapter. What special about it is how Aeron defined the words. It became like an interesting peek of his mind before the story unfold.

I’m practising, I told her. And I don’t even know why I said that, but it felt right coming out of my mouth.

The look into his past before the start of each chapters provided us with a glimpse of what made him the way he was. Personally, I think it’s much more interesting than what he became.
Sociopath is an interesting look into the mind of a man without conscience and how he navigated through life even with curveballs thrown at him. There were some scenes that might be disturbing to some.

Sociopath is an interesting look into the mind of a man without conscience and how he navigated through life even with curveballs thrown at him. There were some scenes that might be disturbing to some.

★ ★ ★ . . . Read as part of #ShhIndieSTARchat March . . . ★ ★ ★

Join chat
Read Q&A

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

