Review: Midnight Lily by Mia Sheridan

Title: Midnight Lily
Author: Mia Sheridan
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Standalone book from Sign Of Love series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

 

Holden Scott was a fallen football star. When life became too much, he agreed to recuperate and rejuvenate at a remote cabin in the woods. But the solitary existence was starting to get to him, until she met a mysterious lady in white.

Lily knew the woods like the back of her hand. It is where she felt alive and free. She found kindred spirit in Holden and his presence finally soothed her lonely heart. But the darkness was ever present and threatened to consume what they fought hard to build together.

 I actually had absolutely no idea what the story is about before I started reading and that is really the best way to enjoy this book. This one is definitely different from the author’s previous works and I love it because this is the kind of books that appeal to me.

Life can still hold miracles, even very small ones.

I found both characters to be incredibly intriguing. It was really interesting how you get to lean about each character, while everything was still shrouded in mystery.

What I love the most about the story is the elements of misdirection. There were clues scattered around but I didn’t paid much attention to them (even from some that actually made me pause and question things) because the story forced me to pay attention to something else.

But then I’d remember the feel of her fingertips on my skin, the slippery silk of her hair, the sound of her laughter, and the way I loved her still, and I’d know, I’d know, deep down to my soul that she was real.

The first 50% was slow pace, but I didn’t mind it at all. I actually love the mystery behind the characters. And I really love the eerie feelings of the ambiance. I could feel like I really was in the woods, feeling the dampness of earth beneath my feet, grasping the thin air looking for answers.

I understand why some people don’t like it and not feeling it. It is not your typical romance but it’s a beautiful love story after all if you dig a little deeper than the surface. I just love this kind of stories that required some effort for you to see the point of it all and the point of this book is that true love can come to anyone at any circumstances.

“Most people only get to fall in love with their beloved once. I get to fall in love with you over and over in a hundred different lives.”

For hopeless romantics, this book will probably leave you less satisfied. But for me, I find it to be incredibly romantic in a beautifully unconventional way because love is not straight and narrow. Just because it bent a little, doesn’t mean it’s any lesser.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

