ARC Review: Tyrant by Nashoda Rose

Title: Tyrant
Author: Nashoda Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Book 2 from Scars of the Wraiths series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Expected Publication: March 7, 2016

 

“I don’t do nice. Period.” -Kilter (nickname: Off-Kilter)

Kilter is crass, reckless and stubborn. He has alienated everyone—just the way he likes it. Until the day he meets Rayne and emotions he buried long ago reawaken.

“I was nothing but a science experiment.” -Rayne

Rayne has been locked away and used for research ever since she was a child. The abuse caused her to withdraw into a tomb of numbness where she’s found a safe place to hide. But her safe place isn’t safe at all, it’s slowly killing her.
When Kilter rescues her and she is unexpectedly drawn to his raw honesty, Rayne must decide whether to trust him and fight for what she can’t see or drown into the depths of darkness.

For some Scars, it’s the story of healing and redemption, for others it’s the beginning of a tortured existence. Which will it be for Kilter and Rayne?

A band of fierce warriors walk in the shadows of the human world with capabilities derived from the senses: Trackers, Sounders, Healers, Tasters, Visionaries and the rare Reflectors. They are known as the ‘Scars.

*Stygian must be read first. 18+

Scars of the Wraiths Series
Stygian (Scars of the Wraiths, Book 1)
Tyrant (Scars of the Wraiths, Book 2)
Take (Scars of the Wraiths, standalone)
Credo (Scars of the Wraiths, Book 3)

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon  |  B&N

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Kilter was an insensitive, abrasive loner. Betrayal from his past led him to a self imposed “exile”. He refused to let anyone in until a woman stirred emotions in him he buried a long time ago.

Rayne was a victim of abuse since she was very young. Over the years, she learned to escape it by withdrawing within herself, dangerously risking her own existence.  It took a long road for her to find herself back. But just as things started to look up, it came crashing down again.

My favorite type of hero has always been the dark horse/underdog tortured souls. Kilter was definitely one of them and I’ve been waiting for a long time for his story and I’m glad this book didn’t disappoint.

 I found the piece of Kilter that had been broken off. Fragmented. The piece that cut so deep that he’d been unable to repair.

Kilter caught my attention since he was first introduced. They way he pushed everyone away just reeled me more to him. He was bitter from his past experience and refused to see things in another light. But beyond that, he had a good heart even when he refused to acknowledge it.

Rayne had been through a lot in life. I understood her coping mechanism and it’s sad to see her withering away. I love how her situation brought out the best in both her and Kilter.

I have to say it took me a while before I get the rhythm of the story. One of the reasons is because it’s been a while since I read the last book and I can barely remember anything. And there’s also the multiple events happening in the book.

“Fuck, you got wasted with a vampire? Did you read your witch handbook at all? The part where it says ‘never get wasted around a vampire’? Even I know that, and I’m not a witch.”

The first 50% or so, there were so many characters and things going on, there were barely anything on Rayne or Kilter. I was starting to get worried, but then things started to make sense and the multiple stories converged into the big finale. About the last 20% things were so intense I was afraid to turn the page haha!

My Delara. The woman I couldn’t have but wanted. The only woman who could touch me without me freaking out. The woman I didn’t deserve and would destroy if we were ever together again.

I felt like Waleron and Delara had been overshadowing the main characters since previous books. I’m glad to finally see their purpose in the stories and looking forward to finally get their own story in the next book.

Note:
I have a soft spot for Roarke 😀

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  TSU  |  Instagram

Nashoda Rose is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Toronto with her assortment of pets. She writes contemporary romance with a splash of darkness, or maybe it’s a tidal wave.

When she isn’t writing, she can be found sitting in a field reading with her dogs at her side while her horses graze nearby. She loves interacting with her readers on Facebook and chatting about her addiction—books

Leave a Reply

