Review: His Light In The Dark by L.A. Fiore

Title: His Light In The Dark
Author: L.A. Fiore
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

 

Cole Campbell grew up without knowing what a real family was like. When a concerned neighbor saved him from further nightmare, they took him in as part of their small family. For a few years he thrived with them, until his darkness pulled him away.

Mia Donati had a crush on Cole from the first moment they met. She watched him transformed from a sad little boy to a man women lusted after. Even when he pushed her away, she never accepted defeat. However, she failed to realize that some things are better left untouched.

One of the reasons why I chose to read this book was the childhood friendship element. I love seeing how characters evolved (for better or worse) as they grew up.

I hated that just looking at him made my knees weak. He looked dangerous, heart-throbbingly sexy, but dangerous.

I like how Mia always saw good in others even though at time it could be incredibly naïve. I also like how she had spunk and a go getter.

Cole was loyal to the people he cared about. Even though it might not be the best choices, I like the path he took in his life.

My favorite character in the book was actually Mace, her dad. I just adored that man and the things he did.

“You’ve been so many things to me. A friend when I needed one, a savior when I needed one, a crush when I was old enough to understand those feelings and an anchor when my world fell apart.”

I like Mia and Cole individually, but I was never really convinced of them as a couple. In part one of the book, there were several mini timeline jumps. I don’t normally have problem with it, but the way it was done felt so disjointed

“There are monsters in your dark, maybe this will help keep those monsters away.” 

In the middle of the book, the story felt dragged on and I was really worried with the ending because I knew the revelation would be anti-climactic since the answer was clear as day. I’m glad there was still something that saved the ending. As much as I like the final twist, I do however felt the things that happened after that were too much for my personal liking.

His Light In The Dark is a story of a couple’s journey through the years and how life changes them and taught them what it’s like to belong.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

