Review: Butterfly Dreams by A. Meredith Walters

Title: Butterfly Dreams
Author: A. Meredith Walters
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Corin Thompson had a hard time after losing both of her parents to illness. She developed fear of mortality that has been preventing her from living her life to the fullest. But an encounter with a man who had faced death head on opened her up to possibilities.

Beckett Kingsley was an exuberant man with a whole life in front of him. That was until he had an unexpected heart attack that took away everything that he valued in his life. But he didn’t use that as an excuse to feel sorry for himself. Instead, he continued to be cheerful while he reevaluated his life and chose to have a meaningful one. However their relationship was at knife’s edge when death became constant threat.

I had books on my TBR by the author for a long time and I finally decided it was time to finally do this. I am happy that this book met my emotional needs even though it wasn’t as heartbreaking as I hoped it would be.

“Laugh with me.
Dance with me.
Smile with me.
Love with me.
Live with me.”

Beckett was a very lovable hero. He was broken both literally and figuratively, yet he always search for the silver lining. His charm never failed to make people comfortable even though deep down inside he had his own demons.

I love Corin from the beginning. Her neuroticism was very endearing and amusing. It considerably lightened up what could potentially be morbid.

I knew how Beckett was feeling. I recognized the look on his face because I had seen it so many times when I looked in the mirror.

I like how their relationship was slow burn. Even though the underlying theme was death, the story itself was very uplifting. There were a lot of funny moments throughout the books that added layers to the characters.

Butterfly Dreams is a story of two broken people taking chances for a happy life even with an unknown future because some risks are definitely worth taking.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads,

Leave a Reply

