ARC Review: Fighting Solitude by Aly Martinez

Title: Fighting Solitude
Author: Aly Martinez
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 3 of 3 from On The Ropes series
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: February 2, 2016

 

I was born a fighter. Abandoned by my parents, I spent my life forging my own path—one guided by my fists and paved with pain.

Untouchable in the ring, I destroyed everyone who faced me, but that’s where my victories ended. Outside the ropes, I repeatedly failed the few people who loved me. Including my best friend, Liv James—the one person I’d die to protect.

Even though I didn’t deserve her, Liv never stopped believing in me. Never gave up. Never let go. After all, she understood what I’d lost, because she’d lost it too.

Liv was everything to me, but she was never truly mine.

That was going to change.

I lost my first love, but I refused to lose my soulmate.

Now, I’m on the ropes during the toughest battles of my life.
Fighting to be the man she deserves.
Fighting the solitude of our pasts.
Fighting for her.

Pre-order at:

Amazon US |  Amazon UK |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided  in exchange for an honest review.

Quarry Page lived a hard life. Growing without parents, his brothers were his support system. With a champion fighter as a brother, it was only natural for him to follow the footsteps and claim his own glory.

Liv James has been friends with Q since they were just a kid. An incident in the past pushed them apart until a life changing event brought them back together. They had always found solace in each other but still haunted by the ghost of the past. Both of them need to learn how to move on before there could be any future between them.

I have to say, I haven’t got the chance to read the previous books in the series. Even so, I really enjoyed this one.

I really like Q. I love how we got to see his struggle since he was very young. I could feel both his anger and his devastation. There weren’t many details on what transpired in the past, but there were enough glimpses for me to understand his family history.

I wanted to melt into his arms and steal the safety and comfort that only existed when I was with him.

I like Liv too, but there were times when I was frustrated with her reluctance to take chance. I absolutely adore their platonic friendship. I love seeing how much they supported each other even if it wasn’t direct.

Both of their family played a huge part on shaping them as an individual and as a couple. I love seeing how fiercely protective they were for each other and how they rallied together during critical situations.

“You are, and always have been, the one person in my life who has the ability to destroy me. For years, I clung to you, knowing that , as long as I kept you close, I didn’t have to be scared of anything else. You, Quarry Page, are the embodiment of my greatest fear.”

One thing I wish I got more is the emotions. I felt for both characters but some added intensity would make it much better. However, I am aware this could possibly partly due to my lack of knowledge of previous stories.

Fighting Solitude is a story of how two individual overcome their painful past with the support their family and each other, because no matter what happen, life should always move on.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter

Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Aly Martinez is a stay-at-home mom to four crazy kids under the age of five, including a set of twins. Currently living in South Carolina, she passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a glass of wine at her side.

After some encouragement from her friends, Aly decided to add “Author” to her ever-growing list of job titles. Five books later, she shows no signs of slowing. So grab a glass of Chardonnay, or a bottle if you’re hanging out with Aly, and join her aboard the crazy train she calls life.

 

Leave a Reply

