Review: Cunning by Aleatha Romig

Title: Cunning
Author: Aleatha Romig
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Book 2 of 5 from Infidelity series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

 

With Del Mar in the past, Alexandria Collins week long fairytale was rudely jerked back to reality. Her new role became a wakeup call to what she signed her life to. Lennox Demetri would make sure he got what he paid for.

When I read Book 1, I thought the Infidelity series had an interesting premise. However, I feel like the intrigued decreased a little in this one.

 “You signed the agreement, and it wasn’t to star as Cinderella. I’m about as far from Prince Charming as you’re going to find.”

For me, Nox was very sexy but he still hasn’t showed his full potential. If the last book we got to see the sensual, carefree side of him, this time around he showed his darker side. But like I said, it was barely a scratch. He kept mentioned about his unique taste and about not being a good man, but I didn’t see that in actions.

If my childhood hadn’t broken me, Nox Demetri wouldn’t.

I like how Alex was determined to change her life even if the method she chose wasn’t ideal. I am rooting for her to win against the people who used her as a pawn.

I like the story when it focused on Nox and Alex’s changing relationship. Still, I thought it could use a little more intensity. I also like that we learned about Alex’s messy family history. I’d say she made a wise decision to stay as far away as she could.

Technically, the writing was very good. However, the story itself lost me at some points, especially when it comes to the political parts – it wasn’t something I’m interested in. I also didn’t feel the ups/downs. It just plateaued.

Personally, I think 5 books for this series is just too long. I needed more excitement, more intrigue in each book instead of stretching it out.  Maybe it would work better as novellas or condensed in fewer books.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

