Review: The Mother Road by Meghan Quinn

Title: The Mother Road
Author: Meghan Quinn
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

 

Marley McMann was a beauty blogger living in sunny California. Out of the blue, her brother Paul and father Bernie showed up at her doorstep and coaxed her into going for a road trip. Thus ensued a cross country trip through Route 66 in a family “beloved” 80s RV. Living in a confined space for a week was nightmarish enough, try adding an unexpected addition of a teenage crush in the form of the sexy Porter Smith the mix. The trip was bound to an unforgettable one.

I haven’t read a lot of funny book, but out of all that I read, Meghan Quinn is the only author that managed to make me literally laugh out loud – as in not just little chuckles, but a big ass guffaw lol!

I crushed on him when he was a boy, but right now, I’m craving on him as a man.

Marley was a riot! What I love the most about her was how even though she’s a beauty blogger, she’s not a prissy little princess. That girl can get down and dirty – uh, quite literally. You know what I mean if you read this book haha!

Porter was sexy as hell. I love how loyal and considerate he was. I also love how much vulnerability he had.

“Vorearephilia is when someone is aroused from eating another’s body parts. Men, keep your members away from a girl with that issue. Lord knows she would gobble your sausage down. Marley I think has Xylophilia. That’s when you’re aroused by wood.”

Paul and Bernie were great supporting characters. Each of them had their own amusing quirks that added to the colorful personalities on board the dilapidating RV.

“Anyway, I did notice that my balls were looking a little too smooth, a little too metro. So, I grabbed your mascara and brushed some fake hair on my balls with it.

The story was a fun one, that’s for sure. It had a lot of mindless humor, some crude and downright disgusting. But at the same time, there were also some emotional moments to balance it.

The Mother Road is an amusing story of a family road trip that will make you laugh, cringe and swoon, and would be a perfect pick-me-up book whenever you need one.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

