Review: F*uck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Title: F*uck Love
Author: Tarryn Fisher
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Helena Conway has always been content with her life. She was the one everyone could count on and be dependent on. That was until a dream jolted her from her bubble and spurred her to take a chance.

That chance happened to be Kit Isley. He was a nice, creative and spontaneous man who encouraged her to be someone no else believed she could be. The problem is expecting more would be a hard task because he also happened to be her best friend’s boyfriend.

I wasn’t sure what I would get when I decided to read this book. I’ve always been a fan of the author because her works tend to be heavy – on either the emotion or darkness. This book had a slightly different feel but still reflected the author’s signature style.

I don’t want to be someone’s ‘girl who got away.’ I want to be someone’s ‘girl who’d I’d never let get away.’

Helena was very likeable. Her quirkiness and awkwardness was part of her charm. I love how she expressed herself through pictures.

He was from a place where giant bubbles blew down Main Street, and artists lived in old clam canneries. The magic of this town clung to him.

I liked Kit a lot. He was very laid back and considerate. But there were moment I wanted him to be more assertive.

I really like the premise of this book – doing what’s right versus doing what’s best for you – because there are always pros and cons either way. I love the connection between Helena and Kit. However, I felt it was less intense than what I’d like. Yes, the book is on the lighter side, but it could still use a stronger pull between the two.

“Contrast is important in life. We understand what light is because we can compare it with what we know is dark. Sweet is made sweeter after we eat something bitter. It’s the very same with sadness. And it’s important to experience sadness, to embrace it in order to truly know happiness.”

What I love the most about this book is how much I relate to its philosophy on life. I’ve always been a firm believer in experiencing myriad of feelings in order to truly live your life.

F*uck love is a story of friendship, love and life’s direction. With interesting plot and well developed characters, you’d want to root for the characters from start to finish.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

