Review: Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward

Title: Lover Awakened
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Type: Book 3 of Black Dagger Brotherhood series
POV: Third Person
Rating:

 

Zsadist (Z) was a notoriously feared and despised warrior of The Black Dagger Brotherhood. Growing up as a blood slave, his past shaped his persona, repelling him from physical contact and affection.

Bella was born into aristocracy. Despite her bloodline, with beauty and poise, she was attracted to Z’s ruthless recklessness because she could see the goodness within. But breaking in was never as simple as it seemed.

I love The Black Dagger Brotherhood series (even though I don’t normally read the genre), but I delayed continuing the series for a long time due to the book length. Now I’m regretting doing that because I could have progressed in the series a lot more than I currently am. Even though the books are long, they certainly worth every words.

“I am sick. I am disgusting. I can’t be trusted.”

When Z was first introduced in the series, I found him repulsive. But very quickly I was intrigued by his nature and I wanted to know more about him. This book certainly brought justice to this misunderstood character. He was surprisingly endearing, and paired with his past, I just can’t help but falling in love with him.

I admired Bella’s strength and determination. Outwardly, they were like day and night. But inside they were more similar than anyone would guess.

“So you’ve got to understand why I die for you every day. Your pain is mine.”

My heart hurt so much for his twin Phury. Their bond, conflicts and sacrifices was heartbreaking, yet heartwarming.

“The two of you are spending way too much time together, you feel me?”

I’ve always loved Butch and V’s bromance. And this book, they took it to the next level. I also love John Matthew. His story was a prominent secondary story chronicling his growing pains.

Lover Awakened unsheathed a different side of Zsadist while actively including several secondary stories making it an exciting and engaging story. I can’t wait to see how things are going to evolve from here.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

