ARC Review: Out Of Plans by Stylo Fantome

 

Title: Out Of Plans
Author: Stylo Fantome
Genre: Romantic Thriller
Type: Book 2 of 2 from The Mercenaries series
POV: Third Person
Expected Publication: December 15, 2015

 

THE new PLAN:

* Find Marc
* Don’t find Marc
* Take down a Russian Bratva boss
* Don’t have sex with Kingsley
* Find Marc
* Take down a Colombian drug lord
* Don’t fall for Marc again
* DON’T FIND MARC
* Kill every –
*
*
* SCREW THE PLAN AND JUST WING IT

This is the story of what happens when best laid plans fail, and a vengeful woman is forced to find her own way once again. A bond broken, trust shattered, and too many lies to keep track of find Marc and Lily all out of plans and running out of time. Can they find their way back to each other before trouble finds them first, or is it really the end of their journey?

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Liliana (Lily) Brewster had an unfinished business. After five years of holding a grudge against Anatoly Stankovski for his wrong doings to her family, she was at the last stretch of her path to revenge. With the help of charming Brit, Kingsley Law, she gained skills and confidence to carry out the ultimate act.

Marcelle (Marc) Da Sant had his own vow to fulfill. Determined to keep Lily safe, he ventured out on his own to end it once and for all. But plans are bound to fail when the two combative personalities crossed path.

The first book was full of fiery explosions and equally fiery passions, so expect to encounter the same situations in this epic conclusion.

He’d once told her that she didn’t have to be the person she was anymore; clearly, she’d taken it to heart. She was something entirely new.

I love how even more badass Lily had become. Events from previous book forced her to reevaluate her priorities and prepped her for the inevitable. However, I liked her less in this one – with her behavior and some of the choices she made.

Marc’s reasoning for his actions were admirable. I love how he learned to let go and adapt as situations required – be it involving Lily or Kingsley.

Kingsley was her partner. Kingsley was there when Marc wasn’t. Kingsley was privy to things Marc wouldn’t be.

Speaking of Kingsley, I have been #TeamKingsley since he first appeared in book 1 and I love him even more now. It’s just hard to resist that British charm and cheekiness.

He may be a very bad man, but he’s charming to the point of distraction.

There’s also a new character in this one. Damiano Lado could hold on his own.  I certainly love him and actually hope he made more appearance in this one.

“I’m a bad man, Lily. I’ve done awful things. But you, you are the best thing I’ve ever done, and I had to do right by that.”

I love all the heart thumping actions and the direction of the story, but I do felt it’s a little lacking in the explosive chemistry that Marc and Lily had in previous book. I also felt like Marc’s sex appeal decreased.

I believe it’s largely due to Kingsley’s bigger role and possibly my biased opinion because I love him more than Marc haha! I am really hoping for more of him in the future because there were things being suggested but not addressed concerning his life.

Out Of Plans is an action filled story with lustworthy characters who you’d want on your side when you’re in a pickle – and on your bed during downtime :p

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Goodreads  |  Facebook |  Twitter

Crazy woman living in an undisclosed location in Alaska (where the need for a creative mind is a necessity!), I have been writing since … forever? Yeah, that sounds about right. I have been told that I remind people of Lucille Ball – I also see shades of Jennifer Saunders, and Denis Leary. So basically, I laugh a lot, I’m clumsy a lot, and I say the F-word A LOT.

I like dogs more than I like most people, and I don’t trust anyone who doesn’t drink. No, I do not live in an igloo, and no, the sun does not set for six months out of the year, there’s your Alaska lesson for the day. I have mermaid hair – both a curse and a blessing – and most of the time I talk so fast, even I can’t understand me.

Yeah. I think that about sums me up.

Leave a Reply

