Review: Slut by Jettie Woodruff

Title: Slut
Author: Jettie Woodruff
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Book 2 of 2 from The Twin Duo
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

Gabriella Pierce’s life was flipped over after her accident. Losing her memory was only one part of her problem. Learning the truth about her past proved to be a double edge sword. Sometimes, the past is better left where it is when it risked ruining the future with Paxton Pierce and her children.

Slut picked up immediately where the previous book left off. Where Suit had intrigue and mystery, Slut was more of unveiling the truth concerning Gabby’s pre-marriage and the more immediate pre-accident past.

Just when I thought I could see a glow at the end of the tunnel, another obstruction blocked my view and everything went dark. A metaphor for my life.

Gabby was desperate to learn of who she was, but at the same time she was unwilling to risk losing everything she had learned to love – the family she always wanted.

Paxton was a manipulative, hard headed bastard, and I absolutely love him. He was infuriatingly sexy. We got to see a lot more of his softer side. I love how he was with his children and how he tried to make up for his past indiscretions.

“He’s not a bad guy, Gabby, just stupid as hell,”

There were two new characters in this book and one of them was Mi. She was all kind of crazy but I love her eccentricities and she became a breath of fresh air to the series.

I loved him, and I loved our magic. Even if it was all messed up. It was ours and nothing could change that, until it could.

I loved that more of Gabby’s pasts were revealed, but I felt this book lacked intrigue. From the ending of book I, I was expecting some shocking revelation with twists and turns but the story plateaued about the first 60%. Thankfully it did picked up after that, but the revelations felt anti climactic because I could see the answers way before it was revealed. Also, like book 1 (but not as bad), this book also contained plenty of typos and mistakes.

I knew our lives were about to change in one way or another.

The biggest problem I had is how there were still a lot of issues unaddressed. This was supposed to be a 2 parts series, but now a novella will be added to it. I really hope it will be in Pax’s POV and clear up all the loose ends.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

