ARC Review: Forbid Me by M. Robinson

Title: Forbid Me
Author: M. Robinson
Genre: NA Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 2 of The Good Ol’ Boys
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: November 24, 2015

 

It was only a matter of time until the truth came out.
I never thought it would come to this…
I tried, God knows I tried to stay away from her but eventually I crossed that line and broke that trust. I could no longer go back and I sure as fuck didn’t regret a single moment of it. I knew there would be hell to pay, I knew the wrath I’d be facing but I would willingly take the burns and scars just to have the love of my best friend’s sister.
If there is one person I’d willingly go to hell and back for it was…

Lillian Ryder

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon  |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Lillian (Lily) Ryder was known as Kid for being the youngest in their group of friends. Always feeling left out and treated like a kid, she yearn to make her mark especially in the eye of certain someone who she had her heart on since she was very young.

Being the oldest of the bunch, Jacob Foster is used of being seen as the brother, But as Lily blossomed into a young woman, every year it became harder to resist her. Out of respect to her brother and his best friend he tried to push her away without realizing he was only hurting himself that way.

In Book 1, Lily was never really part of the group and I never really paid attention to her, so I’m glad she got her moment in this one.

I didn’t see a future until Jacob came back into the picture and that scared me more than anything.

I love seeing a different side of her, with her fun and flirty demeanor. She was also a free spirit who wasn’t afraid to go after what she wanted.

She owned each and every part of me, right down to my soul.

Jacob was the responsible one. Having feelings for Lily, made it hard for him to decide whether to do what’s right or what’s best. I love how he put everything on the line to show her how much he wanted her.

The story went between present and past, from their pre-teen years until their adult life. We got to see how they started as friends and evolved to something more all while keeping it a secret to everyone around them, and how it all fell apart when things were just about to get better.

What I love the most about the book is how the other characters still played a big part in the couple’s life. I especially like how Alex was a big influence for Lily. However, I feel this book is lacking the emotions that I got from the first book.

“You’ve loved me your entire life. I’m in your skin. I’m in your blood. I’m in your heart.”

I was expecting some major angst but I didn’t feel much of it. I love it when characters suffered and I felt like Jacob and Lily didn’t suffered enough – as in the reasons they were apart were trivial and how they got back together were too effortless. Maybe that’s just me and my sadistic nature lol!

Forbid Me tells the story of a forbidden romance between friends who became something more and how their relationship affecting those who close to them.

Note:
The next book is of Dylan and from the ending of this book, it looks like it’s going to be explosive. Looking forward to his story 😀

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Amazon  |  Goodreads  |  Facebook |  Twitter  |  Instagram

Best Selling Author M. Robinson loves to read. She favors anything that has angst, romance, triangles, cheating, love, and of course sex! She has been reading since the Babysitters Club and R.L. Stein.

She was born in New Jersey but was raised in Tampa Fl. She is currently pursuing her Ph.D in psychology, with two years left.

She is married to an amazing man who she loves to pieces. They have two German Shepherd mixes and a Tabby cat

Leave a Reply

