Review: The Fall Up by Aly Martinez

Title: The Fall Up
Author: Aly Martinez
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 of The Fall Up series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

 

Levee Williams was a burnt out, highly successful and popular pop star. Every night in a disguise, she walked up a bridge, contemplating the direction of her life, until one day a handsome stranger tethered her to the ground.

Sam Rivers was a complete opposite from her. The creative, charming and funny tatted man had his own inner demon to fight. He was determined to save her even knowing the huge risk he’s taking for himself.

I have each one of Aly Martinez’s book in my TBR since her debut and finally got the chance to read it. All I have to say is, I regretted not starting earlier. This book will definitely not be my last.

“I’m not perfect, and I’d like to pretend you aren’t, either.”

Sam Rivers made me a grinning, crying fool and I loved every moment of it. He was an incredibly swoony hero. Laid back and creative – my kind of man. He’s also very funny and has a pierced cock. I would be a heartless idiot if I don’t love that man.

What I love about Levee is the fact that even though she’s an “unattainable” character she had a real word problem. Her struggles were real and relatable.

“This is so not fair. Why would you flaunt this fine specimen of a straight man in front of me and not even let me nibble. Do you not love me at all?”

The book had a lot of amazingly amusing secondary characters. One of my favorite was definitely Henry Alexander, Levee’s fellow celebrity and best friend. Both Levee and Sam had great support systems that cared for them in their own different ways.

I love the overall storyline but the reason behind Levee’s struggle seemed too mundane to me. I was expecting something more dramatic. And speaking of drama, I’m always all for it but there was one part in the book that I didn’t like. There was one scene with a particular character was too cliché. I understand it was needed for the unraveling of the next part of the story, I just wish it was done differently.

“From the moment I first met you, you made the world lighter.”

The Fall Up is a story about two individuals at rock bottom, soaring above for each other. Though there were moments of sadness, the book overall feel was light, heartwarming and inspiring.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

