Review: Affairytale by C. J. English

Title: Affairytale
Author: C. J. English
Genre: Memoir
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female

I had an affair. The most forbidden and seductive affair, and fell in Love.

He was a rare gentleman, intelligent and gorgeous; a man every woman desired. Every cell in my body was telling me that he was my happily ever after.

I was stuck in a marriage of mediocrity, I ached for red silk romance and carry me away passion, but not with my husband. I craved Him.

Living without him was cruel and unusual punishment, even for my wandering heart.

Affairytale is a tantalizing memoir of sultry encounters, hidden grottos and secret hillside cabins. From the Land of Ten Thousand Lakes to the Southern shores of Maui you’ll fall in love with this tell-all memoir that pulls back the veil on infidelity and gives you rare look into hearts and bedroom of a real life extramarital affair.

Woven with original love letters and scandalous text messages, this engrossing true love story is sure to break then win your heart.

True Love always finds a way.
Sometimes…it starts with an affair.

 

Amazon  |  B&N 

 

Copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

C.J. started dating Levi when she was quite young. After a few years of being together and sharing something precious, they took the leap and tied the knot. However, marriage wasn’t as a fairytale as she thought it would be especially when her attention redirected to Grant who has been in her life since the beginning. Sometimes the path to true love is a long winding journey.

This is the second memoir I’ve read. Both were scandalous in nature, but after the disappointment in the first one, I’m glad to see that memoirs can be entertaining and emotional as I prefer them to be.

I’d been starving, desperate for emotional love, begging for it like a dog begs for crumbs. Now what I felt with Grant illuminated just how lonely and isolated I’d been in my marriage.

What I love the most about C.J. is how she didn’t put herself on a pedestal. She took credit where it’s due, but she also took the blame equally. I love to read about flawed characters because it’s what made them human – and in this case, real.

Grant on the other hand was a different matter. At times, I thought he was some kind of unicorn – so surreal and untouchable – the perfect embodiment of a male species. It felt weird/wrong to swoon over a real, living, breathing character haha!

He didn’t deserve a cheating, abusive, neglectful wife, but as hard as I tried, I couldn’t be anything but those things for him.

All the rainbow farting unicorn chasers might not even give Levi a glance but for me he was one of the most interesting one. He was the one I felt hurt for the most. I could just feel his anger and frustration.

Some of my favorite elements in this book is the inclusion of personal text messages and letters. I thought it was a great way to get readers feel like they’re part of the story. One of my favorite scene was the flying scene which was exhilarating.

It was enchanting—the idea that there might really be one true somebody for everybody.

Affairytale chronicled C.J. and Grant’s journey to happiness. It was a long and arduous one and no matter what mistake/indiscretion they made, you’d want to root for them.


Read as part of #ShhIndieSTARchat November

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website  |  Goodreads  |  Facebook |  Twitter  |  Pinterest

C.J. English is an Amazon Kindle Best Selling Author in Love and Romance. She made her debut with the sexy and scandalous memoir AFFAIRYTALE.

C.J. lives happily ever after with the man of her dreams and their growing family. She is a lover of life and sushi, wine and wandering, and lives as whole-heartedly as she writes.

When not spending quality time with her family or laptop, you can find her in the kitchen with a stop watch trying to set a new world record for slicing vegetables. C.J. is a passionate vegetarian and consistent rule breaker in writing and in life.

Leave a Reply

