ARC Review: Lux by Courtney Cole

Title: Lux
Author: Courtney Cole
Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Type: Book 3 of The Nocte Trilogy
POV: First Person – Female
Expected Publication: October 28, 2015

 

LET THERE BE LIGHT.

My name is Calla Price and I’m broken.

My pieces are all around me, floating on the wind, even as I desperately try to grasp them.

Who is dead? Alive? Insane?

What is the truth?

I don’t know.

I do know this: The darkness is strangling me. With every breath, I choke on another lie.

My mind has protected me, but that shield will soon be lowered.

All will be revealed.
Every answer to every question.

It’s all been leading to this.

Don’t be afraid.
Be terrified.

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Calla Price had two people that she really cared about – her twin brother Finn and the man she loved, Dare DuBray. Every day she battled to distinguish between dream and reality as she learned more about the dark past of her lineage and she needed to make a choice that would change everything for better or worse.

Lux continued from where the last book left off. Calla woke up in a hospital as confused as she had ever been. To learn the truth, she dug into the recess of her memory and went back to where it all began – summers in Whitley

“It feels like everyone hides things from each other, but I don’t know what.”

Calla started to remember things and trying to put together the missing puzzles. But the closer she was to the truth, there were forces preventing her from uncovering the whole things.

As much as Dare cared about Calla, he was still holding back the truth. He knew more than he let her believe and it was starting to hurt their relationship.

“You’re like Castor and Pollux. You love each other to a fault, and the universe will make everyone pay for it. You have to let the cycle end.”

I’ve always love Calla’s relationship with Finn. Their bond was so tight, it felt wrong to want them to be otherwise.

I really love the first two books because every time I thought I knew something, it got blew out of the water by the end of the book. Because of that, I had high expectation for this book.

“You have the power to change it. You always have, and you always do. Change it to the way it should be. Do it.”

I love that we finally learned the truth. I’m glad that I understood what was happening to Calla and the people around her. And I also love that as a reader, we can decide on our own what to believe.

However, after the crazy high wild ride of the first two books, somehow this one felt a little anti-climactic. I expected to be shocked/surprised/blown away, but the unveiling was done little by little throughout the book making the ending more mellowed. The repetition also got tiring at some points. I understand the necessity but when it’s too long, I tend to lose my patience.

Lux concludes the journey of Calla, Finn and Dare’s search for the truth and secrets and lies that had been brewing before their time, even though sometimes the truth are better laid untouched.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website  |  Goodreads  |  Facebook |  Twitter  |  Pinterest

Courtney Cole is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could.

She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds.

Courtney was born and raised in rural Kansas, but has since migrated south. She now lives in Florida and writes beneath palm trees.

Leave a Reply

