Review: Swelter by Nina G. Jones

Title: Swelter
Author: Nina G. Jones
Genre: Mid-Century Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Lilly Lightly was married to Rory, a dream man on paper – good looking, responsible and hard working.  After 7 years of being caged in an unhappy marriage, she went through motion of life robotically. That was until the hot summer day of 1957.

Everyone thought Rory’s younger brother Bobby was dead since he disappeared on their wedding day. But he came back carrying baggage from the past that changed their lives irrevocably.

When I read the blurb I knew this is something I wanted to read. I’ve always been attracted to unconventional stories and never afraid to explore the (normally deemed) unsavory side of romance. I’m glad this book met my expectation and more.

And despite that dark quiet, there was a light that shone from him. When Bobby was on, his fire would steal all the oxygen in the room.

I fell in love with Bobby the moment he was introduced in the book. He was spontaneous and free spirited, but could also be quiet and contemplative and I love both of his sides.

Lilly settled for 7 years before she finally told herself she needed to do something that make her happy and I was glad she finally took the chance to go for something purely for herself.

This was why we had so much difficultly navigating our relationship in our newfound adulthood. Because the space between immature teasing and detached adult politeness was this unthinkable act, this forbidden desire.

I love learning about their friendships. The three of them were childhood friends and with the men being close brothers, made the situation much more difficult. It seemed like no matter what, both side would be hurt.

“Because I’m sick of stealing another week, another minute, another second. I want the rest of our lives. I want forever.”

This book totally took me by surprise. I didn’t expect things to unravel the way it did. There were a lot of angst and bitter sweet moments that made up both the beauty and the ugliness of their relationships. It made you want to root for them, even for the ones who you’re not supposed to.

Swelter is a heartbreaking story of individuals searching for their own happiness while trying to protect their loved ones. There are elements in this book that might not be suitable for everyone, but if you’re able to past that it is a beautiful story full of love and sacrifices.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

