Review: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

Title: The Air He Breathes
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 of Elements series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Tristan Cole was a broken man still haunted by the memories of the past. He stopped feeling and living for himself, earning him a reputation and making him an outcast of the small town.

Elizabeth Bailey came back to her hometown for a fresh start. Together with her 5 years old daughter, she vowed to move on with their life with beautiful new memories. But sometimes, the past could creep in unexpectedly.

This book has been blowing up my GR feed for days with the stellar reviews and the promise of tears, it was too tempting to ignore. This was my first book of the author and from the look of it, would not be the last.

I’d seen the harsh realities that lived in Tristan. But I’d also seen another side of him that many didn’t notice.

Broken heroes will always be my favorite and Tristan was as broken as one could get. He was incredibly vulnerable and I could feel his pain and understood why he was as cold and abrasive towards others.

I love how Liz brought happiness into his life even when she had her own pain to deal with. I like seeing how strong she was for her willingness to face the past and take chances for the future.

She undressed me and made love to her past. I slid into her and made love to my ghosts.

I like seeing them together bonded by grief, just trying to live day by day. But there were point where I felt so sad for who they were to each other because they were being incredibly unfair not only to each other but to themselves.

Even though I didn’t find the book as heartbreaking as I wanted it to be, it was sad enough to meet my need of emotional pain. I supposed because their pain was related to the past than the present, made me felt it less.

“When does life stop hurting?”
“When we learn to tell life to fuck off and we find the littlest reasons to smile.”

The book had a gloomy feel like a dark damp winter morning, but broken up by rays of light in between. One of them was her straight talking best friend Faye. And Tick and Tock absolutely melted by cold heart.

“No! He never takes this long! There’s no feathers! We have to go back!”

One of the best thing in the book for me was the feathers and the best scene was the morning surprise. Every time there was a scene involving feathers I felt like my heart being stabbed.

Even though the story was predictable, I do like it overall. After the slower pace of the earlier part, at times I felt like the ending was packed with too much within a short period of time and too… perfect/sweet for my personal liking.

“It’s okay to be hurt sometimes. It’s okay to feel lost like you’re wandering around in the dark. It’s the bad days that make the good ones so much better.”

The Air He Breathes is a story about two broken people bound by their past working towards a meaningful future.

Note:
I like that the book feather theme matched my blog theme, except mine is less innocent lol!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

