Review: Suit By Jettie Woodruff

Title: Suit
Author: Jettie Woodruff
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Book 1 of 2 from The Twin Duo series
POV: First Person -Female
Rating:

Gabriella Pierced woke up from a coma not knowing anything about herself, including the existence of a long lost twin sister. She had to deal with an instant family of a husband and two beautiful daughters while trying hard to recover the past.

Paxton Pierce was used to having control over his life and family. But the traumatic event slowly made him questions his own believes and emotions. Things are bound to get messy when the couple’s needs and wants clashed.

What first caught my attention about this book/series was the twin story. I expected it to be dark, but turned out it wasn’t quite that – only on the surface, but I still enjoyed it anyway.

Paxton commanded my attention since the beginning. His hot and cold persona changed directions and devastated like a rogue wave. He made me both hate him and love him at the same time.

I didn’t want be weak in front of him. I didn’t want him to see the things he caused deep in my soul.

I’ve always love being in the mind of an amnesiac – for their fear, confusion and frustration. I could definitely feel all that through Gabriella. I also love how she adapted and at times took advantage of her situation.

The story started really strong with an intriguing prologue. It incidentally planted ideas in my head, and by the end of the book, I’m still not sure what’s right/wrong or true/false because I’m thinking maybe there would even more twist which would make the series more interesting – or it could be just my wishful thinking for it to be more.

I did felt the middle part until quite the end was a bit dragging.  And there were still a lot of questions unanswered. I know it’s a two-part book and it would (hopefully) be answered in the finale, but as a reader, I like to be enticed instead of deprived. Another thing is the numerous grammatical errors. I don’t usually comment on this because I am not a writer and English is my second language, but it was too glaring and distracting not to mention.

It didn’t matter that we both felt the pull. That unquestionable attraction that kept us tangled in this web of deception. Something stronger always pushed us apart.

I love the volatile chemistry between Paxton and Gabriella. The tension/attraction between them was palpable and I expected the sex scenes to be explosive. But I was disappointed that they were sexier during their “foreplays” than the actual act.

Suit is a story of a woman’s struggle in remembering her past while accepting her future. It would appeal to readers who love romantic suspense with a little hint of darkness.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

