Review: Sins Of Sevin by Penelope Ward

Title: Sins Of Sevin
Author: Penelope Ward
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Sevin Montgomery’s life was going downhill. To escape the rigid religious upbringing of his family, he decided to move away when an opportunity presented itself.

Even though growing up in an ultra religious family, Evangeline Sutton was a free spirit with hopes and dreams for the future. A chance encounter with a sexy stranger brought feelings she never had before. The problem was, he was there to be her sister’ husband.

Forbidden romance has always been one of my favorite stories be it the smutty kind of the “serious” kind. This book gave me the story with a little bit of sexy with just the perfect balance.

It was just unfortunate that the one woman who made me feel alive was the only person in the world I couldn’t have.

I like his name Sevin. The name alone made him sexy lol! He definitely had his flaws but I can’t help to fall for him. He made sacrifices so another person could be happy.

I couldn’t hurt the people I loved any more than I already had.

What I like the most about Evangeline was how she was willing to take chances. She made choices that hurt people more but it was done with good intention. The things that she did might look cruel, but the truth, it was the noble thing to do.

I really like both of them together. The tension and the longing between them hurt in a good way. I like the storyline except for one thing – the reason why he decided to take the offer – because he was putting himself back in the situation with the exact reason why he decided to leave in the first place.

“The truth hurts. But you know what hurts the most? After everything, I still fucking love you more than life itself.”

The book was actually a lot sadder than I expected it to be. It spanned through several years and it hurt to see them hurting all those years. Thank goodness for Aunt Imogene. She was like the best distraction in the book and I wish there was more of her.

Sins Of Sevin is about sacrifices and forgiveness because sometimes, it’s the best thing you can grant another person.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

