Review: Asylum by Lily White

Title: Asylum
Author: Lily White
Genre: Dark Erotica
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Alexandra Sutton was a resident of Statham Asylum for the Criminally Insane. She was dubbed the Black Widow for killing her lovers even though she had no recollections of the events.

Dr. Jeremy Hutchins was a new addition to the asylum, determined to go above and beyond to help her regain her memory and unravel the mysteries. He developed a new method in unlocking the unconscious mind that will open the path to her past.

I’ve wanted to read this one for quite a while and glad to finally do it. This was my first “metal institution” book and I like it and definitely want more in the future.

“They are only memories, Alex. They can hurt your heart having to remember them, but they won’t hurt your body.”

I like how Alex adapted to being institutionalized even though she had no idea what happened.  She was scared but learned how to survive, taking herself out of the situation when necessary.

Jeremy was someone most people would like. He was nice, caring and dedicated in helping Alex.

I dry heaved, placing my hand over my mouth to keep from throwing up. She continued to laugh, delighting in the fact that she’d made me physically react in revulsion to what she’d done.

The most interesting aspect of this book was actually the supporting characters. The other patients were varied and fascinating. My favorite is hands down Julianne. She and her eyes… eww…

I felt lost and tingly, floating in a space between reality and illusion, between the present and the dreams I had of the past.

The story had a slow build up, but I don’t mind that at all because it suited the subject matter. Some of my favorite scenes were of Alex’s chemically induced therapy session. I like the imagery used during those scenes.

Now my problem with this book is the story arc. There wasn’t really any. The resolution was packed until the very end. Because of that, I expected something more impactful, but it was a letdown.

“We’re all crazy, Ms. Sutton. Some of us are simply crazier than others.”

The good thing was I had formed several theories while reading but none was fully correct. I like that the revelation was not what I expected, but I just needed it to blow me away. It felt too anti climactic. It needed to be more dramatic. Honestly, I was hoping for something more sinister.

Asylum will appeal to those who like to take on a fascinating and suspenseful journey in the life and mind of a mental patient.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

