ARC Review: Complicate Me by M. Robinson

Title: Complicate Me
Author: M. Robinson
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone book 1 of The Good Ol’ Boys series
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: September 14, 2015

 

It was complicated, it was also just the beginning.

A decision.

A simple choice.

There is always that one moment in life where things could have been different. That one moment where you could have chosen a path that would lead you down a certain road.

A different life.

It was easier to pretend that we were still best friends, and that she was my girl and I was her boy.

Pretending was better than knowing the truth…

I. Ruined. Us.

I had her.

I lost her.

I love her.

All I did was complicate us.

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Lucas Ryder and Alexandra Collins had been best friends since they were born. Together with three other boys, they were as close as blood relatives, growing up together in the beach town of Oak Island, North Carolina.

But growing up wasn’t easy when attractions started to get in the way of innocent friendship. Sometimes, it took learning the hard way to appreciate what you have right in front of your eyes. The choices they made changed the course of the lives in ways they could never predicted.

I started this book totally blind only with the knowledge that it’s supposed to be angsty. I was pleasantly surprised it was a coming of age story. Such childhood innocence has always been something dear to my heart and I certainly enjoyed this one.

 “I loved you then, I love you now, I’ll love you always.”

I love Lucas or Bo since the beginning. There’s just something that made me gravitate towards him even when he was being an ass. And believe me he was an ass pretty much the whole book lol!

“You push me aside when you want, but I’m here when you need me. I’m like your own personal play toy.”

The above quote perfectly summed up Alex or Hal-Pint (love that nickname). She was a loyal friend and it’s sad it took her so long to realize her role in the relationship and did something about it.

We tend to hurt the ones we love. I had to learn that the hard way.

If you love seeing your characters suffer emotionally, this book had plenty of that. They kept hurting each other purposely or accidentally – and people around them too.

What I love the most about this book is how we got to see the characters’ growing pains – not only the two main one, but also the rest of the gang. They started as a bunch of cute pre-teens and along the way the loss of innocence and the breakdown of their life/friendship were really sad. It made me wish they never grow up so they don’t have to suffer.

I had to let her grow up, but it didn’t mean I had to fucking like it.

The book started really well with the powerful prologue. But as the story progressed, I encountered some issues. The story plateaued for a while until the appearance of a new character. The push and pull needed some strong jolt to keep it interesting.

Also, I didn’t favor the constant reminder of something bad going to happen. As a reader, I like to experience it as I go along, instead of being told what to expect. And there were also the over usage of ellipses (I had to Google to know what it’s called haha!). It got tiring when it happened almost at the end (some in middle too) of each POV.

Complicate Me follows the life journey of two individuals and their best friends from childhood to adult stringing readers along with their love and heartbreaks. You’ll laugh with them, swoon for them and cry for them and wish you have them in your life.

 

Note:
I already have a soft spot for Austin. Tortured soul is my ultimate favorite. Looking forward to his story.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

 

 

Amazon  |  Goodreads  |  Facebook |  Twitter  |  Instagram

Best Selling Author M. Robinson loves to read. She favors anything that has angst, romance, triangles, cheating, love, and of course sex! She has been reading since the Babysitters Club and R.L. Stein.

She was born in New Jersey but was raised in Tampa Fl. She is currently pursuing her Ph.D in psychology, with two years left.

She is married to an amazing man who she loves to pieces. They have two German Shepherd mixes and a Tabby cat

Leave a Reply

