Review: That Which Destroys Me by Kimber S. Dawn

Title: That Which Destroys Me
Author: Kimber S. Dawn
Genre: Dark Erotica
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

Wesley Jacobs was a successful owner of a publishing company. He demanded control in both business and pleasure. Women threw themselves at him and he used every single one, but nothing prepared him when a broken angel walked into his life.

Stella Reese was desperate for a job. When opportunity knocked and led her to Wesley’s company, she had no choice but to go through it even though it was something that opened a floodgate to her past.

In my never ending quest in finding a dark book that will scar my soul (yes, I’m disturbed like that lol!), I decided to take a chance on this one. It had elements that would normally please my demonic side (no, don’t be scared of me :p), but it ended up as an unfulfilled potential.

“I will be inside your mind, your soul, I will scratch so fucking far past your surface that you will be flayed open, exposed to only me.”

Wesley was supposed to be a Dom, but instead of an intense presence that I expect a Dom to have, he felt flat. He was demanding and commanding, but for me lacking in maturity considering his age and position.

Any strength I possess, I earned from my ability to withstand being drug through hell, time after time being broken, only to emerge from hell every brutal time stronger.

Stella crawled out from a hellish past. For someone who endured so much, she was almost unscathed and I admired her willingness to put herself out there and take chances.

Now, my biggest problem with this book is the connectivity – as in the characters and their environments. Everybody behaved/talked to each other like they’ve known each other their whole life even on first meeting. Everyone so snarky (and cursed like bikers) to each other no matter their position (boss/employee) or situation (professional/personal)

Then, there’s the story itself. Some scenes didn’t flow as well as it should, like something was missing in between them. I like the premise and how the author chose to end it, but the execution was lacking. It should have been something I love – it had my name written all over it – yet I felt nothing and made me wonder, am I dead inside?

I expect the book to be dark, but it wasn’t until the last 20% where it got interesting. To put it in simple words: Graphic, disturbing, brutal, inhumane. It definitely provoked a reaction. However the beauty of it was marred by the excessive use of reality bending. It could have been so good – that’s what frustrating for me.

“My pussy. You know how I know that pussy belongs to me, Ms. Reese? Because it fucking weeps for me.”

What I like the most about this book is the rough sex. Yes, yes judge me all you want haha! I couldn’t feel Wesley and Stella’s connection as a couple but when they’re doing it, it was good. Though don’t expect kinky fuckery because even though he’s a Dom that aspect is not a focus in this book.

That Which Destroys Me is a story of misplaced obsession with elements that will not be suitable for everyone. Proceed with strong stomach and strong heart.

Note:
I love that book several heroes are mentioned in this book 😉

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

