Review: Slammer by Tabatha Vargo

Title: Slammer
Author: Tabatha Vargo
Genre: Dark Romantic Suspense
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Lyla Evans was a recent graduate assigned as a nurse at a maximum security prison. It wasn’t an ideal place for a beautiful gentle woman like her, but basic needs forced her to endure the undesirable working condition.

Christopher Jacobs was known as X among the inmates and guards. Having been there for ten years, he knew the dos and don’ts of being in incarceration. But when Lyla crossed his path, all rules were thrown out the window. In his eyes, she was worth more than he could ever wish for.

I first found out about this book when I saw a bunch of friends reading it. I read the blurb and it was like love at first sight – you know the heart pumping, spark flying kind of shit lol! I’m glad that it turned out to be more than just a blurb lust.

Evil radiated from him, even though he had a face that was obviously chiseled by angels.

I love X. He was a hardened criminal, and a top dog lone wolf in the prison. Because of that, he became a constant target. He did some vile things to earn his place there, but he had been trying so hard not to repeat the mistake. Behind the monster, he was just a man looking for redemption.

She was too pretty. Looked too sweet for such a sour place. She didn’t belong there, and I was sure she knew that.

Lyla was a tough woman for having to go through all the troubles on a daily basis. She was everything he wasn’t. She was the light within the darkness and a beacon of hope for him.

I love them together. The forbidden element certainly added to the appeal. Before starting the book I did wonder how are they going to get it on, but hell, the found ways for sure haha!

He was my friend in a friendless place and the only brother I ever knew.

I also love Scoop. He was somewhat of an unlikely friend to X and their friendship was something precious considering the situation.

This was my first time reading a book with prison setting. I thought it painted a good picture how life behind bars was like. I could imagine how it looked like and felt the dynamics between the inmates.

The story flowed at an average pace, but towards the very end, it whiplashed you with several revelations at once. And I have to say that epilogue… so… oh well, I’m just going to say I love it.

Slammer explored two individual’s trial and tribulations of living in a confinement while trying to make the most with what they had. It is slightly dark and somewhat graphic and certainly not the kind of story suitable for everyone. But if you have no qualms about certain things, this book might satisfy your darker side.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

