ARC Review: Best Laid Plans by Stylo Fantôme

Title: Best Laid Plans
Author: Stylo Fantome
Genre: Romantic Thriller/Suspense
Type: Book 1 of The Mercenaries series
POV: Third Person
Expected Publication: Sept 7, 2015

 

THE PLAN:
* Smuggle diamonds from Liberia to Morocco
* Make the trip in three days
* Don’t get caught
* Don’t kill each other
* Don’t have sex with each other
* Don’t fall for each other
* Stick to the plan

This is the story of what happens when an unlikely bond is formed between enemies, causing tensions to rise, and igniting a chemistry that threatens to burn them both. Together, they’ll learn that sometimes even the best laid plans can fail.

Pre-order at:

Amazon

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Marcelle De Sant was a free lance mercenary hired to steal millions of dollars worth of blood diamonds from the Liberians for a Russian Bratva. His job was supposed to be a simple in and out.

Liliana Brewster was the transporter for the Bratva. She immersed herself among the low lives for a very specific reason that will need to see the end. But when stakes were high, friends became enemies and even vice versa, in the race to get out alive.

Beside really dark book, my second favorite is romantic/erotic action thriller. Unfortunately I haven’t come across a lot of them that had the perfect balance. When I first found out about this book, I was excited of the possibilities and now having read it, I can say it met my expectation and then some more.

I don’t want to have to hurt her, but I will. I don’t want to have to kill her, but I will.

I am in lust with Marc. Not even ashamed to admit it. He got my blood pumping in every way possible. He was rude (mostly), rough around the edges, killed without batting an eye lash and fucked like there’s no tomorrow (which in this case could possibly be true) – his sex appeal would burn down Hell to crisp.

But sometimes nasty things can come in pretty packages. Lily herself was proof of that.

Lily could hold up on her own. She was badass her in her own way, irrationally fearless, spitting, hitting, head-butting, balls-kicking fire cracker. I love her and want to be her (mostly so I can get dirty with Marc, but still… lol!).

 

If Marc and Lily alone were sexy enough, together they were like a volatile chemical experiment. The tension (both physical and sexual) between them was palpable and just one wrong move could blow it all over your face. It kept you on the edge.

And don’t get me started on Kingsley Law. He was another character that could give Marc run for his money – literally. If Marc was the rough and tumble guy, Kingsley was the poise and proper one. Did I mention he had British accent? Enough said.

So much trouble. So many rocks. Such little rocks.

Reading the book was like watching a nonstop action movie. Guns blazing, car crashing, walls crumbling – I could almost feel blood splattering on my face – and it’s a good feeling haha! And I love that it took me to all the nooks and crannies of dangerous places around Africa.

Best Laid Plans is a fast pace, action laden story with sexy as hell characters guaranteed to put you at the edge of your seat from the first page to the very last one. And I absolutely love that ending because it opened up huge possibilities for the next book. I’m looking forward to more Marc, Kingsley and Lily.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Goodreads  |  Facebook |  Twitter

Crazy woman living in an undisclosed location in Alaska (where the need for a creative mind is a necessity!), I have been writing since … forever? Yeah, that sounds about right. I have been told that I remind people of Lucille Ball – I also see shades of Jennifer Saunders, and Denis Leary. So basically, I laugh a lot, I’m clumsy a lot, and I say the F-word A LOT.

I like dogs more than I like most people, and I don’t trust anyone who doesn’t drink. No, I do not live in an igloo, and no, the sun does not set for six months out of the year, there’s your Alaska lesson for the day. I have mermaid hair – both a curse and a blessing – and most of the time I talk so fast, even I can’t understand me.

Yeah. I think that about sums me up.

Leave a Reply

