ARC Review: Sustained by Emma Chase

Title: Sustained
Author: Emma Chase
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone book 2 of The Legal Briefs series
POV: First Person – Male
Expected Publication: August 25, 2015

 

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I’m going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal’s office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon  |  B&N  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Jake Becker was a straight shooting lawyer. He always told it as it is, no matter if it’s his client or his lovers. He was a perpetual bachelor because relationships come with complications he didn’t need.

Chelsea McQuaid was as complicated as it could be. As a legal guardian to her six (yes six! *shudders*) nephews and nieces she didn’t have time for social life. But little angles (more like devils actually) tend to make her life even more complicated than she could handle.

Before reading Sustained, I expect to have some laughs. I certainly got that, but unexpectedly I also shed some tears. Yes, I actually cried reading a light, funny book. (God please just kill me now… lol!)

‘Cause when it comes to fucking… like I said… the badder the better.

I definitely love Jake. A suit wearing criminal defense lawyer with hard tattooed body underneath? Yes please! I am totally on Jake’s side even when he did things that I shouldn’t support. He could do no wrong in my eyes haha!

I like Chelsea too. I respect how she uprooted herself to care for her brother’s children even if she’s way over her head. She was loving and patience with them, and took a lot of crap from them.

“Riley, boys your age… are really not worth your time. They’re selfish and stupid. It’s not their fault; they’re just programmed that way- but they’re still a lost cause. I think you should stay away from them until you’re at least… twenty five. Or… have you considered being a lesbian?”

I love how the children played a significant role in the directions of their relationship. They were certainly scene stealers. My favorite is Regan with her adorable “challenge”.

If you missed the gang, don’t worry because Stanton, Sofia and Brent made numerous appearances in this book. They were part of each other’s lives.

I’m never a fan of an epilogue but I actually love this one. I think it wrapped things up nicely without making it sickly sweet. I’m allergic to sweetness lol!

Sustained was entertaining, funny and at the same time heartwarming (yes I got tingles in my chest instead of just uh… elsewhere :p ). Definitely recommended to those looking for a sexy funny hero with a soft side.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Website |  Facebook |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

By day, Emma Chase is a devoted wife and mother of two who resides in a small, rural town in New Jersey. By night she is a keyboard crusader, toiling away the hours to bring her colorful characters and their endless antics to life. She has a long standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.

Emma is an avid reader. Before her children were born she was known to consume whole books in a single day. Writing has also always been a passion and with the 2013 release of her debut romantic comedy, Tangled, the ability to now call herself an author is nothing less than a dream come true.

One comment

Leave a Reply

