ARC Review: Sugar Baby Beautiful by J. J. McAvoy

 

Title: Sugar Baby Beautiful
Author: J. J. McAvoy
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV:
Expected Publication: August 21, 2015

 

When twenty-four-year-old Felicity Harper is dragged to a sugar party, an event where wealthy men and women seek “companionship,” she never expects this one simple decision to drastically change her whole life.

Her past is nothing but broken dreams and heartache. Her present is detached and dull. And her future? Well, before meeting Theodore Darcy, the famed film director, writer, producer and CEO of Darcy Entertainment, she would have expected more of the same. Love is just a fantasy and she wants no part of it—even if she can’t deny the undeniable attraction between the two of them.

So their arrangement is simple: sex with no strings attached.
But as their intimacy becomes more powerful, so do Felicity’s demons. Can Theo really shoulder her past and his own? And could Felicity even let him?

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Felicity Harper was a young woman trying to live a fulfilling life on her own. She learned to take care of herself since teenager, even with mistakes along the way. When her best friends and roommate Cleo and Mark dragged her to a party, she never thought it would turn into something more than a passing.

Theodore Darcy was a Hollywood bigwig. Like Felicity, he was there at the party as an unwilling participant. He saw something in her that he wanted. What he didn’t know was that he barely scratched the surface until it was too late.

I ventured into this book with barely any knowledge of what it is about. Based on the blurb I thought it might be a straight to the point love story, but I’m glad it turned out differently.

I had walls higher than Mount Everest around me, yet Theo had somehow made me forget all of that.

Felicity was a no nonsense female. She was strong and independent and could put you in your place when she needed to. But beyond her façade, she had vulnerabilities that still haunting her from her past.

“When I said you’re mine, I meant it. Remember? I say what I mean. I chose scars and all. If it were me, if I were the one who had to be here, would you walk away?”

I’d say Theo would have been a perfect partner on the surface. He was successful without being an arrogant ass and he was very supportive. But personally, I think he might be too put together for my liking.

The story started really interesting. The two characters were in the relationship not what it originally intended to be. However, the excitement plateaued by the middle but right at the point of the twist, things got really good.

I should have just let her go the first time I met her.

I thought this book could turn into a completely different direction – as in darker, which would make me extremely happy – but still, I am happy as it is. The final parts were intense and emotional. One thing I wish differently is for certain significant characters to get more appropriate closure because I think they deserve it.

One of my favorite scenes was the shower sex scene, which was scorchingly intense.

Sugar Baby Beautiful was sweet and heartwarming, but also hit you hard and taught you a lesson in taking chances.

 

Note:
Sugar Baby Beautiful is a standalone with a follow up novella about someone who didn’t get a closure, coming at the end of the year. I am looking forward to it. I hope it’s heartbreaking 😉

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | YouTube | Goodreads

J.J. McAvoy was born in Montreal, Canada and is currently studying Humanities at Carleton University. She is the oldest of three and has loved writing for years. She is inspired by everything from Shakespearean tragedies to Pop Culture. Her first novel, Ruthless People, was a runaway bestseller. And though she writes about dark people doing evil things, she’s a happy and positive person in real life.

Leave a Reply

