Review: Ugly Love by Coleen Hoover

Title: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: NA Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Tate Collins was a new San Francisco transplant. She moved in with her brother in the new city for a job while pursuing her Master’s degree in nursing. With her tight schedule, she didn’t have time to think about her personal life.

Miles Archer was a young up and coming pilot. To distract him from his personal life, he worked himself until there was barely time to sit down. He was content with his life and with how his past dictating his future. That was until Tate entered into the picture.

I have to admit, this book wasn’t even on my radar until Nick Bateman became Miles Archer. After that, I just had to read it. And I’m glad I did because it reminded me how I love a good dose of angst.

She was either going to be the death of me . . . or she was going to be the one who finally brought me back to life.

I had conflicting emotions when it comes to Miles. I love a broken brooding heroes and Miles certainly was one. But he was too closed off and stoic. I felt sorry for him but I didn’t “feel” him. So, I like him, but I didn’t fall in love with him.

Tate was a pushover. I like that she put herself out there knowing it could potentially hurt her. But I didn’t like how she allowed herself to be subtly bullied. However, even though I had complains with both characters, it doesn’t mean they’re bad characters. I love characters that are flawed and hard to love.

“When life gives you lemons, make sure you know whose eyes you need to squeeze them in.”

One standout character in this book was Cap. I love that old man! I love his slightly skewed sense of wisdom and I love how he was in the periphery of their lives.

Every time I’m with him, he fills my heart up more and more, and the more it’s filled with pieces of him, the more painful it’ll be when he rips it out of my chest as though it never belonged there in the first place.

There are two type of angst – the one that’s obvious and makes you wish god strike you with lightning, and the other one more subtle. Ugly Love is the more subtle one where it left me feeling heavy hearted throughout reading it. I know that doesn’t sound appealing but that how I like by books to be haha!

I love how the story alternate between present and past but by 50% point I felt like the past was dragged too much. And by about 80% I started to wonder when are things going to unravel – which eventually led to the somewhat rushed ending. I felt like the turning point and the solution could be played out more.

If the past and the future are off limits, that only leaves the present, and I have no idea what to do in the present.

In the Past chapters, there was this centering thing (you’ll understand what I’m talking about if you read the book). I was annoyed at first, but in the end I actually liked it because of its significance to his past and his present at the end of the book.

When it first happened I thought, “Damn, this kid is putting himself up for heartbreak” because I could feel his “obsession” from the centering and the poeticness of the chapters. It got tiresome after a while, but I got used to it. And in the end when it happened in the present, I understood the significance and it was quite beautiful/brilliant actually.

Ugly Love is a story of forgiveness and acceptance. It would appeal to those who love flawed characters paired with good amount of angst.

I’d like to end my review with my favorite quote:

“I didn’t think God would make someone go through that much physical pain. I didn’t think God would make someone suffer like she suffered. I didn’t think God was capable of making someone go through something so ugly.”

“But then I met you, and every single day since then, I’ve wondered how someone could be so beautiful if there wasn’t a God. I’ve wondered how someone could make me so incredibly happy if God didn’t exist. And I realized . . . just now . . . that God gives us the ugliness so we don’t take the beautiful things in life for granted.”

Note:
I finally fully popped my CoHo cherry!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

