Review: I See You by Ker Dukey and D. H. Sidebottom

Title: I See You
Author: Ker Dukey and D. H. Sidebottom
Genre: Dark Erotic Thriller
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

 

Devon Trent found passion behind the lens. Capturing both beauty and pain breathed life into him. But when he found someone that captured his attention, passion quickly became obsession.

Nina Drake was a survivor. To forget her past, she moved to a new city to start fresh. Developing a friendship with someone new was a small step in getting her life back. But the past wasn’t willing to let her go that easily.

Personally, I think photography is the ultimate in voyeurism. Capturing the good or the bad is fascinating. And you could learn a lot about a photographer’s psyche by analyzing his/her immortalized subjects. This is one of the reasons I was drawn to this book – besides the darkness of course.

I’m under no illusion I’m a monster. I was born from one, raised by one, and brother to one who lacks any trace of ever owning a soul.

When I first started reading, I have a certain hope/expectation for Devon. Even though he turned out differently I still love him nonetheless. I understood him and could feel him and that’s the kind of thing that made me love a character.

Nina’s story was a brutal, sad one and she was a trooper in overcoming her issues. She was afraid of the past but she didn’t let that dictated her future. She was willing to take chances and take a hold of her own life than wallowing in her pity, so I love that about her.

They’re shocked and confused, but deep down a part of them knows they’re going to die. I gain a piece of their soul before they’ve even exhaled their last breath.

Another memorable character was Noah. He was vile and I love being in his head. I just wish there were more chapters on his POV.

“You really are fucking clueless about the monsters that surround you, Nina, aren’t you?”

The story, I like it, but I did figured things out quite early on. Personally, I prefer if authors/reviewers not mention what kind of story a book is because I tend to end up figuring out. As a reader, I want to be surprised/shocked. But when an idea is planted in my head, my mind inadvertently ran through the scenarios and usually ended up with the right one. In my opinion, very few books succeeded in planting an idea in readers only to have it blown away to smithereens.

I love the ending. Yes, I meant the chapter ending, not the epilogue. I believe it was what the book needed. It made me love him even more.

I don’t waste time playing with her; she’s too frail to enjoy toying with. I snap her neck and sling her over my shoulder. She’s heavier than I assumed she’d be.

The book may not be for everyone. It was graphic and brutal at times. It wasn’t a romance, but rather a thriller/suspense with the underlying element of love – both familial and romantic kind. If you don’t mind all that, it could be a fascinating journey into the mind of the disturbed.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

