ARC Review: The Lesson by Elizabeth Brown

Title: The Lesson
Author: Elizabeth Brown
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 of Forbidden series
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: Jul 20, 2015

Things weren’t exactly going according to my Plan, so I did what most Americans do when confronted with a problem : I hired someone else to fix it.

Except ‘it’ was my virginity.
And that ‘someone else’ was a sex surrogate.

I should have known the answer wouldn’t be that simple.

Pre-order at:

Amazon

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Natalie Reese was a planner. She had The Plan which listed in order what she should achieve in her life including boyfriends, marriage and kids. (If you ask me, I’d say that alone will make some men scamper hahah!). But a (semi) traumatic event put The Plan to a screeching halt. At 30, she was still a virgin and determined to rectify the situation once and for all by hiring a sex surrogate.

Ryan Andrews was a Psychology PhD student working hard towards his graduation. Being in health industry taught him to separate his professional and personal life. However, when his path crossed with Natalie, it got harder to separate both.

When I first found out about this book, I knew I had to read it. It certainly has a unique premise – sex surrogacy. Sex surrogate is part of a sex therapy team where the surrogate involved in sexual activity with the client for therapeutic purposes.

I mean, I’d read enough terrifying and outright horrible losing-it stories in Cosmo that I was sure if they could lower the price point, they’d have a successful national chain on their hands.

Virgins ‘R Us
Bed, Sex, and Beyond
V-Card Depot

Natalie was charming in her own way. She was sweet and somewhat innocent but it was balance by her potty mouth. I like that even as a virgin, she wasn’t too clueless about sexuality.

I love Ryan. I mean, he was smart, handsome and had tattoos. What’s not to love? He was a professional, but beyond that he was just a man who had needs. He was also very responsible.

I never would have thought I’d be turned on watching a guy drink a Strawberry Frappe, but there you go…

Another character I love was Brad. He was one of her suitors. Josh her best friend was also very likeable.

As for the story, I thought it was a fresh outlook when it comes to breaking the barrier (pun totally intended) of virginity story. The plot was simple, but it had enough twists to make it more engaging.

My concern is that the big issue at the end was resolved too easily/quickly. Personally, I felt it could use a little more elaboration because there were some questions hanging in the air. I also wish for more character physical descriptions. I’m a visual person. When I read a book, I like to play them like movies in my head.

The Lesson is recommended to those who like a light, funny story with a unique premise. It will make you laugh, cringe (in a good way) and swoon from beginning to the end.

 

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website |  Facebook |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

Contemporary Romance writer and self-professed Charlie Hunnam junkie, Elizabeth Brown used to make fun of her mom for reading romance novels.
Now she’s eating her words.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Elizabeth Brown

Leave a Reply

