Review: Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters

Title: Ruin & Rule
Author: Pepper Winters
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Book 1 of 2 from Pure Corruption MC
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

She woke up in a nightmare. Having no memory of who she was already traumatic enough, now, bound and ready to be sold. However she saw a glimpse of clue of her past from the man who threw her into the nightmare.

He was Arthur Killian, the president of Pure Corruption MC. He was in it for a revenge that had been brewing for the last eight years. He was so blinded to avenge his past that he failed to see the possibility of a future especially that she reminded him so much of what he lost.

Pepper Winters is one of my favorite dark romance author and I am happy that she ventured into the MC world. Though, I have to say I wouldn’t classify this as an MC book. The MC aspect was more as the set up for story of romance and revenge.

I do love Kill. He was infuriatingly stubborn. What I love the most about him is that he’s young and smart and I love the story of how he came to power.

“You remind me of her. Every time I look at you, I see her. You stab me in the fucking heart every time you look at me with her eyes. My gut twists every time the sun catches her red hair. But it’s a lie. You aren’t her. You could never be her.”

He was also incredible angsty. His past singlehandedly shaped who he was in the present. He was broken in a way and I could definitely feel his pain.

The heroine (who I shall not name) had an amnesia due to the trauma of being taken. She got bits and pieces as the story went on revealing past that probably as painful as her current situation. I liked her, but there were times she was incredibly frustrating with her lack of self preservation.

“You’re worse than them. At least they stabbed me in the back and left me to rot. You—you just keep stabbing me. Over and over and fucking over until I’m bleeding from every slice.”

Pepper Winters mastered the art of creating tension between the characters. I love the intensity between the two characters and their chemistry was explosive. Her writing was also impeccable. The proses were poetic and flowed beautifully.

As for the storyline, I like the premise, but it was too slow for my linking for the first half of the book and I ended up figuring out the truth quite early on. I also felt Kill was too similar to Jethro from Indebted Series.

Overall, I enjoyed the story and the ending set the tone to what’s coming in the conclusion of this series. I’m looking forward to see how everything will turn out.

Note 1:  I love Grasshopper – and how he got his name lol!
Note 2: His cock tattoo was mesmerizing 😀

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

