Review: Violent Things by Callie Hart

Title: Violent Things
Author: Callie Hart
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Book 1 of Chaos & Ruin series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

 

Zeth Mayfair and Sloane Romero had gone through a lot in the past. He had retired from being a mafia enforcer and ran a gym, while she was climbing up in her career as a trauma doctor.

Mason Reeves was a young mechanic in need of extra cash. His solution was to join an underground fight circuit. In order to do that, he ended up in Zeth’s gym. But both Zeth and Mason’s lives revolved around crime and it was getting harder to avoid or ignore. Their calm lives might just be the beginning of a raging storm brewing quietly.

If you know me well enough, you’d know how much I love Zeth. It’s been a while since I read the Blood & Roses series and he barely made an appearance in Hell’s Kitchen, so I am very pleased with his comeback in this book.

Zeth Mayfair was back with a vengeance. Wait… scratch that. Zeth was back to live a normal life with Sloane, away from the danger of his past life. Yes, I know it’s hard to believe, but Zeth Mothefucking Mayfair was turning domestic, just quietly running his gym while doing all he could to please Sloane and stay out of trouble.

Cities could burn and the world could be ending, crashing down around my ears, and I wouldn’t trade this feeling or this man to save a single soul. I just wouldn’t be able to.

I’ve always love Sloane. She was a smart and strong female character. She could be on her own, but  I appreciate that she chose to have a vulnerability in the form of Zeth.

Mason was an interesting character. I love his background story and his motivations. I’m intrigued at how the author is going to weave his story into the plot because at the moment it was barely scratching the surface.

She grazes her teeth against my knuckles and I can imagine all too well what that would feel like if it were my cock in her mouth.

As for the book itself, it had an easy pace. Most of the book was about Zeth and Sloane’s romance. Personally, I prefer it with gun totting actions in between, but the slow pace was made up by plenty of scorching sex scenes.

She knows me, knows who I am, and knows I will never live on the straight and narrow like other, normal people. She can handle fights and dirty money so long as I’m not getting hurt. And she can handle the guns so long as I don’t get my ass shot.

And I am also incredibly glad that Zeth didn’t turned out to be a pussy. Even though he was trying to lay low, he was still dipping his fingers in illegal activities.

Thankfully, by the end of the book, things were picking up as their past lives caught up to them. By the ending, I’m predicting something much more exciting and explosive for the next book.

 

Note 1:
Chaos & Ruin is the sister series to the Blood & Roses series. You don’t need to read B&R to enjoy this one, but it will certainly help if you already know and love the characters.

Note 2:
I love how this series has a parallel timeline and crossover with the Hell’s Kitchen series.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

