ARC Review: Tyed by L. J. Shen

Title: Tyed
Author: L. J. Shen
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Publishing Date: July 1, 2015

Rock bottom has built way more champions than privilege has.

Blaire, an underachieving college student with zero prospects and a ton of issues (hey, being the less-successful twin of a gorgeous supermodel would totally do that to you) needs something from Ty.

Mixed Martial artist Ty, a soon-to-be Welterweight champion of the Xtreme Warrior League and the hottest guy in the Bay Area, wants something from Blaire.

But Ty has a secret.
And Blaire can barely even handle his truths.

Life is about to throw a few knockout punches at both of them. Can they handle the pain?

 

Amazon

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Blaire Sterns was just skirting through life. Not only having a supermodel as her twin sister put a blow on her confidence, she also wasn’t doing well at school. As a reluctant communications student, she was assigned to write about MMA which she had no knowledge about.

Tyler Wilder was the local MMA hero touted to be the next Xtreme Warrior League champion. He had the lethal combination of fighting skill, good looks and confidence. She needed him to complete her project, but he will not cooperate until he got what he wanted.

One of my literary weaknesses are fighter heroes. When I got the opportunity to read this one, I jumped on it and I’m glad I took a chance on a debut author. Tyed was sexy (without the actual sexy times), intense and entertaining with an overall light tone of an easy read.

People praise him, curse him, love him and hate him, fear him and respect him. I seem to share those mixed feelings. He attracts me and repulses me at the same time.

Ty was definitely one sexy hero. Him being a fighter alone max out his sexiness in my book. He was an intense alpha with a little bit of caveman tendencies. He wasn’t a broken hero but he had a dark past.

I wish Jax Teller were here to sponge my back. I allow myself to get lost in this fantasy momentarily when Ty’s stupid face floats into my thoughts. Sneaky bastard. Get. Out. Of. Here.

I love being in Blaire head. The things that came out of her mind and mouth were entertaining. There were plenty of self deprecating humors. I can absolutely connect with her character.

As for their relationship, I really loved the first part of the book. Ty and Blaire had great chemistry and their love-hate tension was good. But as their relationship progressed, I felt the spark dimmed a little.

I like the issue that put a roadblock on their relationship but I wish it was elaborated more. I also felt the ending felt a little rushed and personally I’m not a fan of “everything turned out well”, but that’s just me.

“But you mustn’t lose any weight. Your body’s perfect! Your butt is the cutest I’ve seen in twenty years, and boy, I’ve seen some cute butts in my lifetime.”

I love the supporting characters especially Nana Marty. That old lady was a riot! I can totally imagine Blaire turning up exactly like her grandma when she got old.

“Do him for the both of us. I hear twins sometimes have a physical connection that allows them to feel the pain and pleasure of their sibling. Have a chain orgasm and teleport it to me, okay?”

Izzy, Blaire’s twin, was also a fun character. She was nice, but also vain and self centered. She was real.

I also really love Shane who was Blaire’s best friends and wanted more of him in the book, so I’m really happy to find out that he will get his story told in the next book. I’m looking forward to know more about these interesting characters.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter

Author L.J Shen lives in NorCal with her small family, consisting of her husband and chubby cat. She’s a self-proclaimed TV and movie buff, and she reads about three books a week. Her hobbies consist of gymming, watching UFC fight nights and sushi (yeah, okay, sushi is not a hobby per se, but it’s a great part of her life).

Her debut novel, Tyed, is available on Amazon and paperback. She loves to talk to her readers (fine, she likes to talk, and doing so with her readers is just a bonus), so feel free to contact her on her Facebook and Twitter page.

Leave a Reply

