Interview: Faye Hall

Interview with Faye Hall, Historical Romance author of  My Gift To You and It’s A Lot Like You.

 

Hi Faye! Welcome to Warhawke’s Vault Book Blog.
First of all, can you tell us more about yourself?
I was born in North Queensland, Australia and have been writing since school.  I married the love of my life in 2013, though we had met years before, and between us we have 9 children.
 
Do you write every day, or only when the mood/inspiration strikes?
I write when I can.  Sometimes it’s everyday.  Sometimes it can be weeks apart.  Usually my writing pattern has little to do with my mood, and more to do with my commitments involving my children.
 
What made you chose Historical Romance genre?
Not really sure it was any one particular thing so much as I love history and I love romance – it just seemed natural for me to join the two together.

 
What kind of research do you do to accurately represent the particular era you’re writing?
I do have to do a bit of research on the internet and through some Michael Cannon books to accurately get the descriptions of what life was like in Australia during the early settlements.  I’ve also had to rely a lot on the knowledge of Les Hiddens, a man who documented a lot about Australian Aboriginal remedies to make sure I accurately use them in my books.
 
Do you have any plan to venture into a different genre? If yes, which one?
I’m not sure.  Currently I incorporate a fair bit of mystery and murder into my romance books so maybe one day I might branch into that genre more.
 
What are you currently working on?
I’m currently working on a script called ‘Lust & Chastity’, my own version of one of the seven deadly sins and heavenly virtues.  It’s still very much in the early stages though but here’s a small teaser:-

 

She stood there looking at him, wanting him to see the coldness she was being consumed by.

“Why are you even here?” he asked her, his tone slightly taught.

She struggled to stay composed and not let her emotions consume her.

“I had thought I might…” but her words trailed of as she remembered what she had felt and the now apparent foolishness of it all.  Feeling tears threatening, she tried to breathe deeply and calm herself.

“You aren’t a woman of free leisure remember?” he taunted her.  “You need your purity and your order to be able to hold your head high in this godforsaken town.”

Though she fought them, she could feel tears balancing on the rim of her eyes.  “Yet I would have given all that up just for a minute of your time.”

Her words were barely more than a whisper but by the look in his eyes she was sure he had heard her.

“What?” he asked, his words carefully spoken.

Her hand came up to her cheek to wipe her fallen tear away.  “I would have surrendered all my chastity for even an ounce of your lust.”

He went to step towards her, his hand reaching out for her, but she stepped away from him.

“Have you changed your mind so soon?” he asked.

“I seen you with her in the hall.  I seen you holding her…touching her.”

Again he tried to reach out to her.  “You need to let me explain-”

“And no doubt you would be believable enough to try and fool me into thinking what was happening in there was perfectly innocent.”

“Damn it!  You need to listen to me-”

“No, I don’t!” she rebutted.  “I seen with my own eyes that you are as a big a bastard now as I remembered you to be!”

“You can’t leave me,” he reminded her.  “You need me.”

She shook her head, more tears falling from her eyes.  “You know I thought I did.”

Turning away from him then, she grabbed her skirts in her hands tightly and fled from the small room, ignoring his cries for her to return.

 
Thank you for the sneak peek! Now let’s move into something more fun shall we?
by all means.
If you have a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?
I would love to go back to Woodstock and see Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin perform.
 
What would you do if you get to be a man for a period of 24 hours?
I’m not really sure I’d like to be a man to be honest hahaha…but if I did I’d guess I’d treasure being able to walk around without a shirt on in my back yard.
 
Well, thank you so much for taking your time to answer the questions. We wish you the best for your writing career.
Thank you so much!  Was a pleasure 🙂

 Amazon  |  B&N  |  Red Sage

Click cover to go to book’s Goodreads page.

  

Website |  Blog  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Pinterest  |  Goodreads

Faye Hall’s passion driven, mystery filled books are set in small townships of North Queensland, Australia during the late 1800’s.

Each of her novels bring something symbolically Australian to her readers, from Aboriginal herbal remedies, to certain gemstones naturally only found in this part of the world.

Each of her books tell of a passionate connection between the hero and heroine, surrounded and threatened by deceit, scandal, theft and sometimes even murder.

These romances swerve from the traditional romances as Faye aims to give her readers so much more intrigue, whilst also revealing the hidden histories of rural townships of North Queensland.

Faye finds her inspiration from the histories of not only the township she grew up in, but the many surrounding it. She also bases most of her characters on people she has met in her life.

Faye was able to live her own passion driven romance, marrying the love of her life after a whirlwind romance in 2013. Together they are raising their 9 children in a remote country town in northern Queensland, Australia.

Leave a Reply

