Review: Hell’s Kitchen by Hart Saint Germain

Title: Hell’s Kitchen
Author: Callie Hart and Lili St. Germain
Genre: Romantic Thriller
Type: Book 1 of 3 from Hell’s Kitchen novella series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

 

Theo and Sal of the Barbieri clan were tasked by their father to exact revenge by kidnapping the daughter of their rival Irish clan boss. The job was supposed to be simple. Get the girl and bring her back in one piece.

Kaitlin McLaughlin’s kidnapping turned complicated when she had a tough female bodyguard that would do anything to be in good grace of the big boss. One city was certainly not big enough for two rival families.

Callie Hart and Lili St. Germain are among my favorite romantic thriller/suspense authors.  So when they combined creativity, I expect nothing less than explosive result. They certainly delivered on that.

I needed a bit of time to get into the groove when I first started reading. There were a lot of characters introduced very quickly and things happened before you could take a breath.

After I got acquainted well enough with who’s who and their roles, it all fell into place nicely. I love that the book is fast pace. It kept my attention and kept me on my toes.

I love both of the Barbieri brothers, but my favorite is Theo. He’s the older, more ambitious one.

I love Sal to. He was more of a dickhead. But the scene when he came back to his home and found a surprise was memorable.

I might be a person nobody knows, a girl with my face turned down to the pavement so nobody sees me, but I see them. I see all of them. I hear them.

I like Scarlet. I’m interested to know more about her. Gracie was ok, but I’m not particularly fond of her.

My favorite scene in the book was definitely the storeroom scene with Theo taunting Gracie while “taking care” of someone else. That was hot.

I love that the authors’ characters from previous books made appearance but it was too brief. Their roles were yet to reach full potential.

Personally, I don’t think you need to read Blood & Roses series by Callie Hart or The Gypsy Bothers series by Lili St. Germain to enjoy this. There was enough background for you to be in the loop.

If you love fast pace, action pack with sexiness in between, Hell’s Kitchen would satisfy your need.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

