Review: The Mad Tatter by J.M. Darhower

Title: The Mad Tatter
Author: J.M. Darhower
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Male
Rating:

 

 

 

Reece Hatfield was a tattoo artist stretched thin by the hardness of life. He was an artist desperately looking to go back to his first passion but repressed by circumstances. With enough things to worry about, relationship was the last thing on his agenda.

Avery Moore came from a proper and respectable family. As a ballerina, her world revolved around dancing, but a trip to the other side of the town tilted her axis and opened her up to endless possibilities.

Things can get downright messy when two worlds collide.

The Mad Tatter was a sweet and heartwarming slow burn romance between two artists. For something light and slow, I actually liked this one a lot.

It was pretty much impossible to resist Reece. The tortured artist thing was appealing to me. He was a tattooed bad boy with a good heart and a responsible human being.

The world had been streaked with vibrant color everywhere I looked, until the day I turned around and it all caught up to me.

He had a past mistake that still haunted him and dictated his direction in life. It prevented him doing something he truly loved – the kind of art that comes from the heart and it killed him inside.

I do like Avery, but I felt she could have been so much more. With her background, I thought it could use some expanding to make it more significant.

“I have a yolo!” she exclaims. “I can do walks my dog with it and go ’round the world!”
Β Brow furrowing, I stare at her. “What?”
“My yolo,” she says. “I got it for Christmas.
I laugh when it dawns on me what she’s saying. “That’s a yo-yo, not a yolo.”

The scene stealer in this book was definitely his Little Miss Lexie. She was adorable and the sunshine within Reese’s bleak outlook in life.

Overall I enjoyed this book as a nice easy read for in between my preferred dark depressing ones.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

