Review: Ruthless People by J.J. McAvoy

Title: Ruthless People
Author: J.J. McAvoy
Genre: Romantic
Type: Book 1 of 3 from Ruthless People series
POV: First Person – Multiple (Mostly dual)
Rating:

 

Liam Callahan and Melody Giovanni were from two rival Mafia families. Liam was the heir to the Chicago Irish clan, while Melody was The Boss of the west coast Italian clan. They were bound together by a contract stipulating a marriage between them, as a solution of peace by their fathers.

He was hoping for a meek trophy wife, while she was hoping to dominate him. Neither did they know when they’re together, more than sparks could fly.

From what I can see Ruthless People is the kind of book that falls into two categories: People hate it because it’s too over the top or people love it because it’s a crazy wild ride. For me, I feel like I’m stuck in between.

He was known as the “Boogeyman of the East,” and I was the unknown “Wicked Witch of the West.”

Liam and Mel were as the title said, ruthless people. They had no regards for life and all they cared for were expanding their empire by any means necessary. They popped bullets into people head like they’re playing a shooting game in carnivals.

There were a lot of uncalled violence in this book, but that’s not an issue for me. This is a personal preference, but when there’s violence, I prefer it to be darker and/or emotional to justify it. This book was too cheery and detached for me to feel for it.

I know why I was created. God needs me. What would happen if there weren’t people like me? If the world were perfect, if everything was the way you wished it to be, then why would you pray? God needs me, because without us, you forget about Him. 

I love Mel. It’s rare that I love the female character more than the male one. I admired her ambition and her motivations. She knew what she wanted and she went and got it herself, and be damn whoever stayed in her way.

“You are so fucking ridiculous. Why must you always try to prove that you’re a cold-hearted bitch?”

“Because a cold-hearted bitch is what I need to be,”

As much as I love her as a badass Boss, I love her even more when she finally showed her human side when a personal tragedy strike. Showing vulnerabilities made her more tolerable in a politically correct sense.

Liam was the more emotional one and I love how he showed/forced Mel to see things differently. They were equal, yet they balance each other out.  I do like Liam, but at the same time I felt he was a bit lacking in the It factor.

I love all the secondary characters especially Adriana. Who would have thought she was more than a maid? She was total badass!

One of my favorite scenes was Mel’s moment of darkness, during her “interactions” with the other characters. It was slightly sad and somewhat amusing too.

I may not love this book as much as I wanted to but I am definitely intrigued to see where this series will go.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

BR with the Shhluts of Shh… in honor of Sasha who has returned because she’s as badass as Mel and afraid we’ll steal Liam from her if she didn’t lol!

 

Leave a Reply

