Review: My Time In The Affair by Stylo Fantome

Title: My Time In The Affair
Author: Stylo Fantome
Genre: Erotic Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: Shifting Perspective – Dual POV
Rating:

 

Mischa Rapaport was tired of her old life. After being with her husband for eight years, the sparks had dimmed considerably. Being married to her best friends sounded like a great idea, but the truth was far from it. She tried to bring the matter to the table, yet he stubbornly refused to acknowledge the issue.

When opportunity knocked on her door, she gladly answered. Her job took her to Italy and she decided, cheating on her husband would be on the agenda.

Tal Canaan, was the tall, dark and handsome stranger who saved her from an aggressive pursuer. But what supposed to be a one night stand with the mysterious man turned out to be something that changed her life.

Let me just start with a statement. I’m the type of reader who poses no boundaries when it comes to my reading materials – so cheating is not a big deal for me.

Hard to argue with something that felt so right, even if it was wrong

After reading the author’s acknowledgment, I applaud her decision to write this book. In fact, I applaud any author who dared to write books with high potential of being hated by the masses. Because once you start writing stories that is “not you” just because you’re afraid you’ll lose readers, that’s when you become a fraud and a sellout.

Now, this book was about cheating yes. But it was also about so much more than that. It was about having the guts to make a decision (regardless if it was right or wrong), to stand by it (even if it kills you inside) and to accept the repercussion (and learn from it).

I have to say, I’m definitely smitten by Tal. His dark, mysterious persona alone was enough to set my panties on fire. And every time he said “Come find me.”, I wish I could jump into the book and go find him! Though he was the other man, he certainly wasn’t the villain. Rather, he proved to be quite the opposite.

I can do this. I can totally do this. This is who I am now. Bold. Confident. Sexy. Slut-bag.

Mischa was someone I could relate to. Even though I haven’t necessarily experienced the same thing, I could put myself in her shoes. I’m not justifying cheating, but she had valid reasons for doing so. And I know it’s easy to say, “I would rather leave the relationship than cheat”, but it’s not necessarily easy to actually do it. Walking away from what you know and familiar with is never easy even if it’s for the best.

Storywise, when I first started reading, I didn’t expect the story to turn into the direction it did. It was a love story, but there were also other elements in it that made it more exciting.

She had run away from her life, and he’d found her.

Maybe he could run away from his secrets, and she’d find him.

As for the POV, I’ve always been a fan of third person POV.  However, in the beginning of the book, I had hard time finding the “voice” because it seemed all over the place. I believe it was partly due to the many inner monologues – which can be confusing for a third person POV writing with dual perspectives. But after a few chapters, it did fit better.

I love when stories took me to different exotic places – in this case, Italy and Turkey. I just wish we got more description on the places. Yes, there were descriptions on the places they went to but only of the immediate vicinity. I’d like to see more as a whole. I’m a visual person. When I read, I want to be transported into the character’s world.

“Stop. It’s done, it’s over with. Things are going to be shit for a while, but you’re here. With me. We have each other,” he reminded her.

One of my favorite scenes in the book was definitely the confrontation scene with her husband. That was very intense and I could feel his anger and her fear. I also love the scene of the aftermath in the hotel room.

My Time In The Affair may not be a book that appeals to everyone. It was emotional and painful at times, but also sexy and heartwarming. If you get it, you’ll see the beauty in it.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

