Review: Marrow by Tarryn Fisher

Title: Marrow
Author: Tarryn Fisher
Genre: Dark Thriller
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

Margo Moon grew up in the derelict town called Bone Harbor where poverty and social issues was just a way of life. She lived a mundane life until the day she struck up friendship with her handsome cripple neighbor, Judah Grant. Their friendship gave her purpose and meaning in everything she did.

One day, tragedy descended upon their small town when her young friend went missing. The event awakened something dark inside her and she found a new purpose in life that skated dangerously between what’s right and what’s best.

Tarryn Fisher is one of my favorite dark authors. She’s a master in writing about morally corrupted characters and made us think about the beauty within the ugliness. Marrow was one of the stories of beauty within the ugly.

I do not regret my choice; I stand by it. 

What Margo did (which I’m not going to elaborate because you just have to read it yourself!) may not be socially acceptable, but is it morally right? Depending on your personal belief system it could go both ways. And that’s what I love the most about this type of book – every reader could interpret/viewed/accepted the story differently.

 And I fear nothing, because there is nothing left to fear.

I absolutely love Margo. I love seeing her transformation from a timid girl who thought she was insignificant, to the woman who found her purpose in life – albeit the purpose was slightly skewed. I also love seeing how she justified her choices while still struggling with the rationale.

Judah was actually my favorite character in this book. I love their friendship and how he was the reason she changed whether intentional or not. He was the epitome of hope – the light to her darkness.

If you’ve read Mud Vein, you may notice there was one significant character from the book in this one. This character’s appearance totally messed up my conclusion of this book. If the character wasn’t present, I would have believed in one conclusion without a doubt.

“Not everyone can be saved,” he said to my tear-stained face. “Sometimes you just have to let nature take its course.”

Now, I have another one that could possibly be true. So I cannot decide which theory I want to believe in and I hate it when I doubt myself. And it was probably the author’s intention to make readers question what they want to believe by including the wild card character. But then again, even if you haven’t read Mud Vein, there is still a possibility that you would have more than one conclusion.

A little warning, this book is not for everyone. It is dark and contained graphic and disturbing situation. If you enjoy taking a journey in the dark corner of human psyche, you’ll probably enjoy this book as much as I did.

Note: You don’t need to read Mud Vein before reading this book. This is a standalone and there’s no connection in the storyline. With that said, Mud Vein is still my favorite Tarryn Fisher’s book.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

